4th DUI Penalties in Georgia
A Fourth lifetime DUI in Georgia is a felony offense, but only convictions on or after July 1, 2008 are considered for this purpose. This applies if it is a 4th DUI in the last 10 years. The maximum penalty for a 4th DUI conviction in Georgia is 5 years in jail and a $5,000.00 fine plus court surcharges. The minimum penalty is a one year jail sentence of which all but 90 days can be probated, with credit for any time served after arrest, and a $1,000.00 fine. Of course people rarely get the minimum fine in a 4th DUI case in Georgia. Georgia DUI Penalties can be severe in the case of a Fourth Georgia DUI.
Your Future is at Stake:
The judge can suspend half of the fine if you undergo an alcohol or drug treatment program approved by the court. Other mandatory requirements are 60 days (480 hours) community service, DUI School, 5 years probation less any time served in jail, a clinical evaluation and any recommended substance abuse treatment. All community service can be suspended if you are sentenced to serve 3 years in jail or more.
If this is also your 3rd DUI conviction within 5 years, (while being a 4th DUI in 10 Years) you will also be subject to a $25.00 fee to publish a notice of your conviction and your photograph in your county newspaper. You will also be required to surrender the license plates to any vehicle registered in your name. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device in each of your vehicles for a minimum period of 6 months.
Further, you will be declared a habitual violator. Any person declared a habitual violator must forfeit their vehicle to the state, but you can petition the judge to transfer the title to another family member if the forfeiture would cause your family financial hardship. Being a Georgia Habitual Violator means your will not be allowed to drive a car for at least 2 years and as much as 5 years. If you violate the law and are found driving, you will be charged with a Felony. Being charged with a felony in Georgia is a life-changing event.
Your license will be revoked for a 5-year period if you are a habitual violator. You will be given credit for any administrative suspension time incurred if you are 21 or older. After 2 years, you can apply for a probationary license to use for the remaining 3-year revocation period that may have restrictions as to the places, routes, and times you are allowed to travel.
If you violate the terms of your probationary license, it will be revoked and you cannot reapply for a regular driver’s license until the original 5-year revocation period has ended or for 2 years – whichever period is greater. If you are convicted of any suspendable offense during the revocation period, you will be guilty of a felony and punished by a minimum fine of $1,000.00 and 12 months in jail.
What this means to you and your life:
Nothing is more important in your life than to hire the best Georgia DUI Lawyer when you are charged with a fourth of more DUI in Georgia. Your future and your entire life is at stake. We take your life and future seriously. You need lawyers that are not only highly rated and skilled, but also people who care about your future. In a Fourth Georgia DUI, there are alternative sentences. There is always hope. We never assume that you are guilty. Your case can be fought.
Our office will take a two-part approach to your case. We will investigate your case for all possible Georgia DUI Defenses. The best thing for your case is to win it!
If you are facing a fourth Georgia DUI, time is of the essence. Contact our office 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are always here to help.