Have you been arrested for your first DUI in Georgia?
A First Georgia DUI is a serious matter. In Georgia you can receive time in jail and license suspension for up to a year. Even the minimum penalties for a first GA DUI can include jail-time and suspension of your Georgia drivers license or privilege to drive on the highways of this state. This applies to citizens of Georgia and for out of state drivers. Georgia DUI Attorney Richard Lawson has more than 20 years of experience representing people on their first Georgia DUI. He is a former prosecutor trained by the same people who are prosecuting the case against you. He has successfully handled more than 4600 Georgia DUI cases.
30 Day Warning!!
In Georgia you have 30 days to file an appeal of the suspension of your drivers license or choose to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. Be warned that failure to file for an ALS Hearing in Georgia can result in the suspension of your Georgia drivers license, or privilege to drive in Georgia, for up to 1 year. Many States will also honor this license suspension.
Often, when an individual is arrested for DUI it is the first offense they have ever committed. When an officer takes your driver's license and you are subject to charges, it can be scary and confusing as to what happens next. Georgia law has statutory minimums and maximums for a first time Georgia DUI offenses. We can help you avoid receiving harsh Georgia DUI Penalties.
A first time Georgia DUI offender can face a minimum of 24 hours in jail which is required by law. You may face up to 12 months incarceration. However, most of the time the judge will allow a first time DUI offender to complete the sentence on probation. The costs associated with DUI offenses are significant both in time and money.
There are usually fines which may amount to over $1,000 once court costs and surcharges are considered. There may also be several hundred dollars more required for probation supervision fees. Under Georgia law, you must also complete a minimum of 40 hours of community service as well as attend DUI School.
Generally speaking, Georgia judges will also require attendance at an alcohol and drug evaluation and subsequently, any recommended treatment programs. You will also likely face a one year driver's license suspension. Depending on the details of your case, suspension time may be less, or you may potentially be eligible for a limited driving permit.
Common punishments for a first DUI in Georgia can include:
12 months of probation
Fines of $300 - $1000
1-10 days in jail
40 hours of community service
Alcohol and Drug Counseling
If this is your First DUI in Georgia, Call a Georgia DUI Attorney today. Every case has options and has hope. You can reach an attorney 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to protect your drivers license, your criminal record, and your freedom. Your case will not defend itself. You need the experience of an office that only handles DUI cases in Georgia. Put our experience to work for you. You best DUI defense begins here!
For more information on the Penalties for a DUI in Georgia, visit the remainder of this website.