MCCAYSVILLE DUI LAWYER - MCCAYSVILLE DUI ATTORNEY
If you have been charged with DUI in McCaysville GA, you need an attorney now. Georgia DUI laws are strict, and it is in your best interest to hire a McCaysville GA DUI Lawyer that has extensive experience. We have defended DUI charges throughout Georgia for over 25 years. Call now and see why we are Georgia's top-rated DUI firm.
30 Day Letter
If you were arrested for DUI in McCaysville, or anywhere else in Georgia, you only have 30 days to save your license from being suspended. You have the option to request an administrative license suspension (ALS) hearing or to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If you don't take action within 30 days, then your license will be automatically suspended. If you refused the State's testing, then your license will be suspended for twelve months.
Habitual Violator in McCaysville
If you have committed three major offenses within a 5 years, you will receive the habitual violator status. Habitual violator is not a crime it and of itself; instead, it is a status. Once declared a habitual violator, your license will be suspended for five years. After two years of suspension, you may be eligible for a special permit.
Multiple offenses that can lead to an habitual violator (HV) status in Georgia. They include:
- Hit and Run
- Racing on Highways or Streets
- Fleeing or Attempting to Elude
- Vehicular Homicide
- Serious Injury by Vehicle
- Feticide by Vehicle in the First Degree
- Child Endangerment while DUI
- Any Felony using a Motor Vehicle
- Driving on a Suspended, Revoked, or Canceled License
- Felony Forgery Conviction
- Unlawful or Fraudulent Use of or Application for a License or ID Card
A conviction for any three of these offenses within five years will result in the violator being notified on their habitual violator status and the suspension of their driver's license. The time period is measured from the date of the arrest to the date of arrest.
Types of DUI in Georgia
After exclusively practicing DUI for over 25 years, we know that there are many different ways a person can be charged with a DUI. Most people only think a DUI occurs when a driver consumes alcohol and their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the state limit of .08. While this is one way to be charged with DUI in McCaysville GA, it is not the only way. Some additional ways a person could be charged include:
DUI Less Safe Alcohol
A driver can be guilty of a DUI less safe when they drive a vehicle under the influence of alcohol to the extent that the consumption makes it less safe for them to operate a motor vehicle. Furthermore, a person can be charged with DUI less safe if their BAC is less than .08.
DUI Per Se Alcohol
A person commits DUI per se when they operate a vehicle with a BAC over .08 or more, within three hours of driving. It is also DUI per se when someone under 21 years of age operates a vehicle with a BAC of .02 or more. For a commercial driver, the BAC is .04.
DUI Less Safe Drugs
DUI less safe for drugs means that a driver was under the influence of a drug to the extent that it was less safe for them to drive. Drugs include both prescription drugs and illegal drugs. A person convicted of DUI drugs will be unable to get a permit to drive and will suffer a hard suspension of their license.
DUI for Glue, Aerosols, or Toxic Vapors
A person can be charged with DUI while under the influence of glue, aerosols, or toxic vapors. This type is not as common but still comes with severe consequences. Similarly to DUI drugs, a conviction will include a hard suspension of their driver's license.
DUI for Marijuana or a Controlled Substance
Even though there is a statute for DUI drugs, Georgia has a separate law when the drug is marijuana or another controlled substance. The prosecution has the burden of proving that the marijuana or controlled substance caused you to be an unsafe driver.
DUI for a Combination of Two or More Drugs
A driver can be charged with DUI when they are under the influence of a combination of drugs and alcohol. The drug could be marijuana, a controlled substance, glue, toxic vapors, aerosols, or a prescription drug. Even if the driver's BAC is under .08, evidence of drugs in their system will be sufficient for a DUI charge.
McCaysville Municipal Court
If you were charged with a traffic violation, city ordinance violation, or other misdemeanor traffic offense within the city limits of McCaysville, then your case will move onto McCaysville Municipal Court. Court is held at McCaysville City Hall located at 223 Blue Ridge Drive, McCaysville, GA 30555. The Honorable Judge Robert Sneed presides over the Court. For more information call (706) 492-4921.
Map to McCaysville Municipal Court
Contact Us Today
Contact Lawson and Berry today if you have been arrested for a DUI or a related offense in McCaysville. Our seasoned DUI lawyers in McCaysville are waiting to take your call and explain the options for your case. Call today and speak with an attorney who truly cares about your future! We will make sure your rights, future, and freedom are protected!