Reckless Stunt Driving in Georgia
Reckless stunt driving is a new offense but one that should not be taken lightly. It can lead to a loss of license, significant jail time, and hefty fines. In addition, Georgia Courts are coming down harshly on those charged with reckless stunt driving in attempts to reduce recidivism and send a message to the public. Our Georgia Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyers have been trained in the defense of racing cases and other traffic related offenses. They are here to help you win your case and get back to your life! Call us today for a free, no-obligation case evaluation.
Pursuant to Georgia Law O.C.G.A. 40-6-390.1, Reckless Stunt Driving is Defined as:
Any person who operates any vehicle while drag racing, in violation of Code Section 40-6-186, or laying drags, in violation of Code Section 40-6-251, in reckless disregard for the safety of persons on a highway or upon private property without express authorization from the owner of such property commits the offense of reckless stunt driving.
Georgia law defines drag racing as the operation of two or more vehicles from a point side by side at accelerated speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other or the operation of one or more vehicles over a common selected course from the same point to the same point for the purpose of comparing the relative speeds or power of acceleration of such vehicle or vehicles within a certain distance or time limit. For more information on Georgia racing laws, please visit our page here.
Laying drags is defined by O.C.G.A. § 40-6-251(a) as operating a vehicle “in such a manner as to create a danger to persons or property by intentionally and unnecessarily causing the vehicle to move in a zigzag or circular course or to gyrate or spin around. For more information on laying drag, please visit our page here.
Penalty for Reckless Stunt Driving in Georgia
As one might expect, the penalties for a reckless stunt driving conviction get harsher for each subsequent offense. When reviewing these punishments, it is important to note that these only apply if you are convicted! Your Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyer in Georgia can use a multitude of defenses to mitigate the penalties you will face.
First Conviction: Treated as high and aggravated misdemeanor with fine between $300-$750 and jail time between 10 days and six months
Second Conviction within 10 Years: Treated as high and aggravated misdemeanor with fine between $600-$1,000 and jail time between 90 days and 12 months
Third Conviction within 10 Years: Treated as high and aggravated misdemeanor with fine between $1000-$3,000 and jail time between 120 days and 12 months. In addition, you will be treated as a habitual violator and your driver's license will be revoked. Once declared a habitual violator, the State will take your vehicle. This is called “forfeiture”. There are a couple exceptions to the forfeiture rule. The statute states that if the vehicle is the only family vehicle, then the Court has the power to order that the vehicle's title be transferred to another family member. This can only occur if forfeiting the vehicle would result in financial hardship to the family.
Fourth Conviction within 10 Years: Punished as felony with fine between $1,000-$5,000 and between one to five years in prison. A fourth conviction will also be subject to the license revocation and vehicle forfeiture.
What Can Be Done When Charged with Reckless Stunt Driving in Georgia
There are always alternative sentences or outcomes for your case! Just because you have been charged does not mean you have been convicted or that you will be convicted. Our Reckless Stunt Driving Lawyers are skilled in how to negotiate your case to receive alternative punishments. However, they are also experienced trial lawyers if it seems that going to trial is your best option. No matter what the specifics of your case are, rest assured that our Georgia Reckless Stunt Driving Attorneys can help. With over 50 combined years of experience in criminal defense, trust us with your future. Call now.