Georgia Reckless Driving Lawyer - Georgia Reckless Driving Attorney
Reckless driving is a common charge and is considered a serious traffic offense. A conviction for reckless driving is 4 points on one's driving history. If you are under the age of 21 and convicted of reckless driving, you will lose your license. Driving at high speeds, weaving, and other driving that leads to accidents often result in a reckless driving charge. Reckless driving is an offense that prosecutors commonly amend/reduce DUI charges to in cases where a driving offense occurred, but the state cannot prove it was the result of being under the influence.
Our Experience at getting Georgia DUI Cases Reduced to Reckless Driving
Many of our cases are reduced to reckless driving, but this does not happen on its own. It takes a team of professionals to investigate your case, develop possible defenses, and present those defenses to the prosecutor and the court. For more than 25 years, Georgia DUI Attorney Richard Lawson has saved the drivers license of thousands of Georgians and people visiting the State of Georgia. Put his experience as a Former Georgia DUI Prosecutor to work for you. Your best defense begins here.
What happens if my Georgia DUI Lawyer gets my case reduced?
A reduction to Reckless Driving is considered a win in your Georgia DUI case. For almost all of our clients, the actual goal in the case is get their Georgia DUI reduced to reckless driving. We cannot guarantee a reckless in all DUI cases, but if we able to accomplish that goal, it will save you a license suspension and a permanent criminal record. For almost all clients, this is a total victory in their DUI case.
Reckless Driving in Georgia
Under Georgia law, reckless driving is codified as follows: O.C.G.A. 40-6-390
(a) Any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving.
(b) Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment, provided that no provision of this Code section shall be construed so as to deprive the court imposing the sentence of the power given by law to stay or suspend the execution of such sentence or to place the defendant on probation.
What if I was not driving recklessly or was stopped at a roadblock and not seen driving at all?
We are asked all time how a case can be reckless driving when a person's car is stopped at roadblock or not seen driving at all (such as stuck on the side of the road). The answer is based on the concept of a compromise. Reckless Driving is a compromise result. We agree to take the reckless driving charge and the prosecutor agrees not to pursue the DUI case. So, as long as we don't object to the lack of a reckless act, no one is there to complain. So, as long as the defense does not raise the issue insofar as to the lack of a reckless act, then no one is there to complain.
Contact us today for immediate help
If you have been charged with reckless driving by itself or a DUI in Georgia, you need to act immediately. Our office is available 24/7 to help. This included weekends, nights, and holidays. Call Now.