UNION POINT GA DUI LAWYER - UNION POINT GA DUI ATTORNEY
The lawyers at Lawson and Berry understand that a DUI arrest in Georgia can be a frightening experience. The court appearances and license suspension put stress on your everyday life. Our Union Point DUI Attorneys are here to uncomplicated the criminal process and give you peace of mind during your case. With over 50 combined years of experience, we know what it takes to obtain a successful outcome in your case. We pride ourselves on being available to our clients whenever they need us, including nights, weekends, and holidays. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Union Point, call now for a free case evaluation.
If you have been charged with DUI in Union Point, GA or anywhere else in Greene County, you only have 30 days to file a request for an Administrative License Hearing or to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. A failure to request the hearing or install the device will result in the suspension of your Georgia driver's license. The filing fee is $150 if you request the hearing. If you have been accused of refusing the breath, blood, or urine test, your license will be suspended for one year with no chance of a limited permit.
DUI Charges in Union Point GA
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious criminal offense in Georgia and has significant consequences for those convicted. In Georgia, there are two types of drunk driving offenses: DUI less safe and DUI per se. Each type requires specific elements and carries a different sentence if convicted. While DUI per se is the one that most people associate with DUI charges, DUI less safe is frequently charged. Georgia law outlines that it is illegal for any person to operate a motor vehicle while the driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than the legal limit. For drivers age 21 and older, the limit is .08. Drivers under 21 years have a much lower threshold of .02, and CDL drivers have a limit of .04.
A DUI per se charge means that a driver's BAC was above the legal limit, and therefore, the driver should be found guilty of DIU even if the prosecution is unable to show that the driver's ability to operate the vehicle was impaired. To be specific, the prosecution is only required to show that the driver's BAC was above the legal limit within three hours of being in physical control of the moving vehicle.
The other DUI charge is DUI less safe. A person can be charged with DUI less safe in Union Point even if their BAC was less than the legal limit. Instead of going by the limit, a person can be arrested if an officer believes that the driver is a less safe driver due to alcohol consumption. DUI less safe is a more subjective charge than DUI per se and thus is tried more often. The prosecution has the burden of proving the extent of the driver's impairment beyond a reasonable doubt. The prosecution generally relies on evidence such as the driver's behavior, an odor of alcohol, slurred speech, or other manifestations of being under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Our Union Point DUI Lawyers are Here to Help
Not all attorneys have the broad and comprehensive knowledge and experience that is gained through years of dealing with DUI cases. Lawson and Berry has more than 20 years of dedicated DUI experience and a solid reputation of success. We have defended thousands of clients against all types of DUI charges and can craft a custom-tailored defense for your case. Whether your goal is a reduction or a dismissal of charges, we have the tools you need to accomplish your goal. Our Union Point DUI lawyers are intimately familiar with the ins and outs of Georgia DUI law and can protect your rights against even the most serious charges.
DUI charges can greatly vary in severity depending on the driver's history of convictions and the unique circumstance surrounding the case. No matter the specifics of your case, our Union Point DUI attorneys are prepared to defend you against the prosecution's claims. With state-of-the-art legal resources and in-depth knowledge of DUI case law in Georgia, our attorneys use their invaluable experience to craft a persuasive defense on your behalf. We have many former prosecutors on our team, we can anticipate the opposition's strategy and aggressively corner their approach. Our experience allows us to stay one step ahead at all times.
Your Future is At Stake, Contact Us Today
The chances of you securing a positive outcome for your case are only as good as the team on your side. By retaining the DUI attorneys at Lawson and Berry, we promise to use our vast legal knowledge and passion to prove your innocence or reduce your charges. Without our help, expect to face serious penalties such as imprisonment, probation, driver's license suspension, and much more. Call now and speak with a Union Point DUI Attorney that can give you insightful information and resources when dealing with a DUI charge.
Union Point GA Municipal Court
If you received a traffic citation or a misdemeanor charge within the city limits of Union Point, GA, your case will proceed in Union Point Municipal Court. Court is held on the second Monday of each month at the Four-Room School Building located at 211 Veazey Street, Union Point, Georgia 30669. Judge Peter J. Rice, Jr. presides over Union Point Municipal Court. For more details or information about court or your citation, call 706-486-4102.
Map to Union Point Ga Municipal Court
Contact an Aggressive DUI Defense Lawyer Today!
If arrested for DUI in Union Point, GA, you should contact one of our DUI lawyers immediately after the arrest. The penalties can include the loss of driving privileges, fines, and possible jail terms. However, greater penalties can also apply for multiple DUI violations. We will defend your license and make sure your rights and driving privileges are protected. Contact a DUI lawyer in Union Point, GA quickly, as timing is vital in DUI cases.