TALLAPOOSA DUI LAWYER - TALLAPOOSA DUI ATTORNEY
Our DUI Lawyers in Tallapoosa are ready to help with your case today. You need to act fast if charged with a DUI or else you put your license on the line. Remember that being arrested or charged with a DUI does not mean that you are guilty. There are numerous Georgia DUI defenses we can use to fight your case. Call now for a free no-obligation consultation and discover your options.
30 Day Warning
You only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative license hearing or to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If you fail to request a hearing or install the device, your driver's license will be automatically suspended. The hearing request must be submitted by mail and costs $150. It is in your best interest to contact a Tallapoosa DUI Attorney to discuss whether the ALS hearing or the ignition interlock device is the best option for your case.
Underage DUI in Tallapoosa
For drivers over 21 years of age, it is illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or .08% of more within three hours of driving. However, for drivers under 21 years, that threshold is much lower. Drivers under 21 years will be considered DUI if their BAC is .02% or more within three hours of driving. This low limit demonstrates Georgia's strict approach to underage DUIs. Because the limit is so low, we have found that young people can be charged with DUI without actually being under the influence. They may have blown over .02%, but their driving may not have been impaired. Under Georgia law though, they are still guilty of violating DUI laws in Georgia.
Furthermore, underage drivers who refuse chemical testing can still be charged with a DUI; it will be charged as DUI less safe if an officer deemed that it was less safe for to drive due to being impaired.
Penalties for Underage DUI in Tallapoosa
For a first DUI underage conviction, it is considered a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. However, you could also be facing a license suspension, community service, probation, and drug use risk and reduction course.
You Have Options If You are Under 21 Years of Age and Charged with DUI
If charged with underage DUI, the key is not to give up! There are defenses we can use for your case. We do not want this mistake to affect the rest of your life. We will try to show the prosecutor that you deserve an alternative punishment. However, if they do not agree, we are experienced in taking cases to trial.
Tallapoosa Municipal Court
If you have been charged with underage DUI in Tallapoosa, your case will proceed to Tallapoosa Municipal Court. The Honorable Timothy McCreary presides over the Court. Court is held at Tallapoosa Howland Park located at 2853 US Hwy 78, Tallapoosa, GA 30176. For more information, call (770) 574-2345.
Map to Tallapoosa Municipal Court
Speak with a Tallapoosa DUI Attorney Today
You do not have time to waste when charged with a DUI in Tallapoosa. Your best defense starts by calling an experienced attorney now. Our lawyers have over 50 combined years of experience and have represented thousands of people charged with DUI in Georgia. Our office is over 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to take your call. Contact us now.