Traffic Violations That Could Suspend Your Georgia Drivers License in Georgia
Most people have been pulled over and charged with a traffic offense at some point in their life. However, many people are unaware that there are a multitude traffic violations that will automatically suspend your license if convicted.
In Georgia, there are several traffic violations that will automatically suspend your license upon conviction. Some of those offenses include:
- Homicide by Vehicle
- Serious Injury by Vehicle
- Fleeing or Attempting to Elude
- DUI Child Endangerment
- No Proof of Insurance
- Driving on a Suspended License
- Hit and Run
- Habitual violator
- Operating a vehicle with revoked, cancelled, or suspended registration
- Reckless stunt driving
- Conviction for any felony of which a motor vehicle is used
The length of the license suspension can range from 60 days to years. In addition to a license suspension, there are many other consequences including jail time, fines, community service, probation, and installation of an ignition interlock device that coincide with a conviction.
For drivers 18 years or older, an accumulation of more than 15 points within a 24 month period will also suspend your license. So even if you were not charged with one of the above offenses, there is still the possibility for a license suspension if you have been convicted of multiple traffic offenses.
If you or a loved one have been charged with one of the above offenses, it is not just the license suspension you need to worry about. Call one or our experienced Georgia Traffic Violation Lawyers for a free case evaluation.
Drivers Under 21 Years of Age
The most serious of traffic offenses committed by Georgia drivers under 21 years of age mean an automatic 6 month license suspension if convicted of any of the following:
- Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident
- Fleeing or attempting to elude
- Reckless driving
- Unlawful passing of a school bus
- Improper passing on a hill or curve
- Exceeding the speed limit by 24 miles per hour or more
- Driving under the Influence
- Aggressive driving
- Reckless stunt driving
- Any offense that is worth 4 points or more
If you or a loved one is under 21 and has been charged with any of the above Georgia Traffic Violations, you need to contact our experienced team of Traffic Ticket Attorneys in Georgia. They have been defending Georgia drivers for over 25 years and understand the penalties you are facing and how to minimize them. No matter the specifics of your case, there are always defenses they can use to help your case! Call now.
Drivers between 18 to 20 years old
Georgia drivers who are 18 to 20 years of age incur slightly less strict penalties than drivers under 18, with an allowed accumulation of 15 points in a 24 month period before Georgia Driver's License Suspension will occur. However, if you are convicted of any one traffic offense that is worth 4 or more points, your license will be suspended.
Drivers Under 18 Years of Age
If you are under 18 years of age, your Georgia driver's license will be suspended after you have accumulated 4 points in any consecutive 12 month period. For a driver under 18, their license could be automatically suspended upon a conviction for a 4 point offense. The suspension period of your Georgia driver's license is 6 months and during that time, early reinstatement or limited permit is not allowed. The driver must complete a Defensive Driving class, retake the Georgia driver's exam, and pay a fee to have the driver's license reinstated at the end of the 6-month suspension period.
As mentioned above, there are several different ways your license can be automatically suspended when you are under 18.
- If an under 18 driver is convicted of speeding between 15-18 miles over the speed limit, and failure to maintain lane, their license will be suspended. The speeding offense conviction will receive 2 points and failure to maintain lane would receive 3 points, for a total of 5 points resulting from 1 incident. Therefore, the driver would be subject to a license suspension.
- If a driver is charged with speeding over 15 mph over the speed light and passing in a no pass zone, their license will be suspended. Passing in a no pass zone is a 3 point offense and any speed 15 mph or more will add enough points to bring the total over 4 points, and will cause an automatic suspension.
- If convicted of reckless driving, a person under 18 will have their license suspended as it is a 4 point offense.
No matter what situation you or a loved one find yourself in, our experienced Georgia DUI and Traffic Ticket Lawyers are here to help. Don't just plead guilty because you think there are no options! There are always defenses we can use to defend your case and prevent a license suspension. Call now for a free case evaluation.
License Suspension and DUI Charges in Georgia
If you have been arrested for DUI in Georgia, it is critical that you speak with an experience Georgia DUI Attorney in order to save your license. While a license suspension is a standard consequence if convicted of DUI, there is another way you can lose your license: by failing to request an ALS hearing. After a DUI arrest, your attorney only has 30 days to request an ALS Hearing or to install an ignition interlock device (after applying for a permit with DDS within 30 days) to save your drivers license. The State of Georgia charges $150 to file for this hearing. However, this hearing only happens if your DUI Lawyer in Georgia requests the hearing. It does not happen automatically. If the hearing is not requested or the interlock device is not installed, your Georgia Drivers License or privilege to drive in Georgia will be suspended.
Can You Use a Nolo Plea to Avoid a License Suspension?
A nolo contendere plea (or no contest plea) can be an effective tool when charged with certain offenses in Georgia. When used correctly, nolo pleas allow people to avoid receiving points off their license.
A nolo plea can only be used to avoid points being assessed for a moving violation ever 5 years. Even if you are eligible to use a nolo plea, the judge has discretion whether or not to accept the plea. One thing to note is that a nolo contendere plea will be reported to the Department of Driver Services (DDS). While it will not result in points against your license, it can result in your insurance company raising your premiums because it will show up on the MVR report. Furthermore, a nolo plea does not mean you get a reduced punishment. You will face the same sentence as if you entered a regular guilty plea.
Nolo pleas can also be used to avoid a license suspension for the following offenses once every five years:
They can also be useful if you already have several points on your license and want to avoid any additional points that could suspend your license.
However, if you have already used one nolo plea in the past 5 years, and you choose to plead nolo again, DDS will consider the second plea a guilty plea and points will be assessed on your license. While nolo pleas are valuable, often an experienced DUI Lawyers in Georgia can provide alternative options than entering into a no contest plea.
Zero Point Orders
One of the alternative options your Georgia Traffic Ticket Lawyer can discuss with you is the possibility of a zero point order. A zero point order can result in the ticket incurring zero points for the Georgia driver.
An individual can request that the judge issue a zero-point order to avoid points being assessed for a traffic offense. In order to make this request, the person must have completed a DDS-certified defensive driving course after the date of the citation and submit proof to the court at the time of the plea. If the judge grants the issuance of a zero-point order the base fine for the offense will also be reduced by 20%. The offense will still be reported to DDS and appear on the individual's driving history, but no points will be assessed. A zero-point order can only be utilized once every 5 years.
Please note that a zero-point order cannot be used to avoid a suspension for a driver under 21 whose license is subject to suspension after conviction of a 4 or more point offense.
If you would think a zero point order is best for your case, contact our Traffic Ticket Attorneys in Georgia. We are here to answer your questions and evaluate the best defense and strategy for your case.
You Have Options When Facing a License Suspension in Georgia
There are always options for your Georgia Traffic Ticket Lawyer to explore when charged with violating a traffic law. Points are assessed based on the traffic violation for which a conviction is entered, so if the original violation is amended or reduced to an offense for which no points are generated, no points will be assessed against your license. It can be very beneficial to go to court for traffic violations, no matter how minor the offense, in order to request that the charge be amended to a lesser offense. We urge our clients to never just pay the ticket before court because they could have negotiated a lower charge. For example, if you are charged with speeding 19 mph over the speed limit, your Georgia Traffic Violation Attorney can request the court to reduce the speed by only 5 mph to 14 mph over the speed limit to prevent any points being assessed against your license. Even if you think there is no hope for your case, just give our office a call. It won't cost you anything but could save your license!
Contact Us Today
When charged with a traffic offense in Georgia, it can be overwhelming to know who to turn to for help. At Lawson and Berry, our team of Georgia Traffic Offense Lawyers have been defending Georgia drivers for over 25 years. They know all the nuances of Georgia law and understand how to make the law work for you, not against you. At Lawson and Berry, our offices are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to answer your call. We pride ourselves on being available to our clients because we understand you may have questions outside of normal business hours. Call now for a free, no-obligation case evaluation.