Middle Georgia DUI Lawyer Richard Lawson
Georgia's Top-Rated DUI Attorney
Former DUI Prosecutor Richard Lawson has dedicated his entire career to Georgia DUI Defense. He is the most-reviewed, top-rated DUI attorney in Middle Georgia and around the state and has over 20 years' experience in Georgia DUI Law.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Macon, Middle Georgia, or anywhere else in the state, you only have thirty business days from the date of your arrest to file an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) hearing request or a request for an ignition interlock device. The filing fee is $150 and is separate from any attorney's fees. If you fail to request an ALS hearing or the interlock device, your Georgia driver's license will automatically be suspended. If you refused (or have falsely been accused of refusing) the State's chemical test of your breath, blood, or urine, your license will be suspended for one year with no chance for a restricted permit.
DUI Laws and Penalties in Georgia
Being arrested for DUI is humiliating, confusing and scary. The Law Office of Richard Lawson can help you get the best outcome possible for your Middle Georgia DUI case. An arrest for DUI many times means time in jail, hefty fines, and a suspension of our Georgia driver's license.
Georgia's DUI penalties are severe, but they do not have to happen. Choosing the best DUI Lawyers in Middle GA can help you avoid them. Our Middle GA DUI Attorneys will look for any possible defenses to your Middle GA DUI case.
Each and every Georgia DUI case is different. In Georgia, a first offense DUI without aggravating circumstances carries a possible twelve months of jail time or probation. The accused will spend 24 hours minimum in jail and the rest on probation.
Community service must be performed (a minimum of 40 hours), as well as DUI School. For prior DUI offenses, the punishments are even more harsh. You could possibly spend more time in jail and have your driver's license suspended. With a competent Middle Georgia/Macon area DUI Lawyer, you may be able to avoid such consequences.
Do You Need a Middle GA DUI Lawyer?
Many people may think they do not need a DUI Lawyer in Middle Georgia, especially if it is their first offense. However, DUI charges are never simple, and are some of the most complex offenses; even for a misdemeanor. Since DUI cases involve chemical and scientific evidence and therefore, have many variables involved, one of them being human error.
Along with human error, there are also possible device malfunctions with breath and blood testing equipment. Even if there is no scientific or chemical evidence, law enforcement relies heavily on field sobriety testing and other measures to determine impairment, which are the subject of challenge and scrutiny.
The weather, experience and training of the officer, the other individuals in the vehicle, even the shoes the driver is wearing has an effect on a DUI case. Not to mention if the driver is sick or otherwise physically ill, or takes certain medications, is tired, stressed, or nervous.
Every Middle GA DUI case I unique, and little things that seem irrelevant all of a sudden make all the difference in the world. All of these reasons add up to why you need a Middle Georgia DUI Attorney who has the knowledge and experience to recognize subtleties in you DUI case. The answer is clear: you need a Middle Georgia DUI Lawyer.
Choosing a Middle Georgia DUI Attorney
Choosing a DUI Lawyer (or any lawyer) is one of the most important decisions you will make. It is, by far, the most important step in defending your DUI case. A DUI Attorney in Middle Georgia will thoroughly analyze every bit of evidence against you in detail; leaving nothing to chance. The DUI Lawyers with the Law Office of Richard Lawson will work tirelessly to get your charges dismissed, or come up with a solid defense to fight your case in court. Choosing just any lawyer to handle your case can be the difference between guilt and innocence. That is why you need a Middle Georgia DUI Lawyer who has devoted their entire practice to the defense of those arrested and charged with DUI.
If you want the best outcome possible for your case, you should secure an experienced Middle Georgia DUI Lawyer as soon as possible after your DUI arrest. DUI Attorney Richard Lawson and his team of Georgia DUI Lawyers are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to assist you. Our office serves Metro Atlanta, North Georgia, and Middle Georgia with expert DUI Defense. They are always ready to speak to you, whether it be nights, weekends, or even holidays. We provide expert advice when you need it most.
Georgia DUI Penalties
Many individuals do not know that being a driver from another state can significantly impact the legal advice given after a DUI arrest. An out-of-state driver can face issues that will not apply to Georgia drivers; especially a driver's license suspension. While the State of Georgia can only suspend your ability to drive within the state, this suspension will more than likely be reported to your home state. Your home state will have control over whether your license will be suspended and for how long. Our Middle Georgia DUI Lawyers routinely handle Georgia DUI cases for out-of-state drivers and have much experience in doing so.
Even if it is your first DUI offense, the consequences are harsh and include time in jail, driver's license suspension, fines, probation, and more. You will need a Middle Georgia DUI Attorney to carefully evaluate your case to find possible defenses. If your case is not handled correctly, it could affect any arrest you may have in the future. You do not have to have a criminal record from a first offense Georgia DUI charge. There are many defenses available, so hire the best DUI law firm in Georgia today.
A second Georgia DUI charge carries more severe penalties than a first. That is why how your first DUI charge was handled is so important. A second conviction for DUI could result in 72 hours spent in jail, a three-year driver's license suspension, installation of an interlock device, and counseling and treatment for substance abuse. The stakes are high. It is crucial that you contact a Middle GA DUI Lawyer today to begin your case. Georgia is tough on repeat offenders and rarely gives the minimum punishment for a second Georgia DUI, and getting your charges reduced does not happen magically.
A third Georgia DUI within ten years is considered a high and aggravated misdemeanor. Because it is seen as such, there will be limited earned jail time allowances. That means if you happen to be convicted, you will spend every single day of your sentence in jail with no time off with good behavior. If you have been arrested for DUI for a third time in five years, you face a mandatory driver's license suspension for up to five years and be declared a habitual violator. If you are found to be driving a motor vehicle during your license suspension, you will be charged with a felony offense of HV, or Habitual Violator. Contact our office right away if you have been or are facing HV status.
A fourth Georgia DUI is a felony. If you have been arrested for a fourth DUI in Georgia since 2008, you will be charged with felony DUI. The maximum penalties for a fourth Georgia DUI conviction within ten years is five years in jail and a $5000 fine, plus court fees. Having a felony conviction on your record is serious business and can vastly affect your life by taking away your freedom and driving privilege. Contact us now; we are here to help.
Middle Georgia DUI Defense
Georgia DUI Lawyer Richard Lawson and his team of Middle Georgia DUI Attorneys are available each and every day to help you; 24 ours a day, seven days a week. They are trained in providing the best defense to get you the best outcome possible for your case. Put our experience to work for you. Contact us today.