Maysville DUI Lawyer - Maysville DUI Attorney
If you have been charged with a DUI in Maysville or anywhere else in Jackson County, you need to hire the DUI lawyers at Lawson and Berry. Our founder, Richard Lawson, started as a DUI prosecutor but formed this firm over 25 years ago to help those charged with DUI. His experience as a prosecutor is invaluable because he knows both sides and exactly what to expect. Contact our Maysville DUI Lawyers and find out why we are Georgia's top-rated DUI firm. We offer free consultations and are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
If you are arrested for DUI in Maysville, you or your Maysville DUI Attorney needs to file a request for an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) Hearing or an ignition interlock device within 30 days of your arrest. The filing fee is $150. If an ignition interlock device or the ALS hearing is not requested within 30 days, then your Georgia driver's license will be suspended. Furthermore, if you refused the State's test of your breath, blood, or urine, your license would be suspended for one year. Call now to protect your Georgia driving privileges.
DUI Arrest in Maysville
Anyone who is charged with DUI should be aware of the seriousness of the charge. Being arrested for DUI is only the beginning of a long process. There are hearings and motions to file, and your case could take months to resolve. If found guilty, a DUI in Maysville will have serious consequences. The penalties can include the suspension of your driver's license, termination of employment, incarceration, and large fines. To have the best chance of a positive outcome, it is critical to hire an experienced DUI Attorney in Maysville to help you properly navigate your way through the legal process and protect your rights. Lawson and Berry has the experience you need to achieve the best outcome in your case. We have over 50 combined years of criminal defense experience. We understand both the legal and technical laws surrounding DUI and how to make the law work in your favor.
Types of DUI Cases in Maysville
If arrested for DUI, you were either charged with DUI per se or DUI less safe. DUI per se occurs when a person is driving with a blood alcohol content that is over the legal limit. For people over 21 years of age, the limit is .08. For CDL drivers, the limit is .04. A person can be found guilty of DUI in Maysville if their BAC was over the limit even if the prosecution cannot show that their ability to drive was impaired. The prosecution is only required to show that the driver's BAC was .08 or higher within three hours of being in control of a vehicle.
A person can be charged with DUI less safe if the officer can demonstrate that the driver had impaired driving ability through observation. Some examples include:
- Allowing vehicle to drift from side to side on the road
- Swerving to avoid running off the road
- Driving the middle of 2 lanes
- Nearly hitting something or someone
- Hitting the brakes erratically
- Driving too slowly
- Taking a turn too wide
Maysville DUI Defense
Every DUI case comes with a new set of facts and a new way to interpret the law, which our Maysville DUI lawyers are experts in handling. Once arrested for DUI, the clock is ticking. You only have 30 days to save your license, and there are motion deadlines to pay attention to. Upon calling our office, we will take the time to thoroughly examine your case. This can include interviewing witnesses, visiting the scene of the arrest, obtaining police records, watching dashcam videos, and reaching out to medical experts. We will look at your case from every angle to develop arguments to undermine the State's case against you.
Our DUI Lawyers in Maysville focus exclusively on DUI law and therefore are knowledgeable in the best arguments to make for each case. We understand that your case offers a unique set of facts, and we are ready to rise to the challenge. We practice throughout the state of Georgia and have spent years building relationships with prosecutors, judges, and court staff.
How We Can Help
Our Maysville DUI Lawyers have years of experience defending both DUI per se cases and DUI less safe cases. We know how to challenge the constitutionality of the stop as well as the results of the blood or alcohol test. The important thing to remember is that a charge is not the same as a conviction. There are always defenses we can use for your case. Your case is not hopeless.
Maysville Municipal Court
If you were arrested in the City of Maysville, Georgia, your court appearance will be upstairs at City Hall on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 9:00 A.M., with Scott Tolbert, Municipal Court Judge presiding. Barbara Thomas is the Clerk of Court. The Court/City Hall address is 4 Homer Street, Maysville, GA 30558. The phone number is 706-652-2274.
Map to Maysville Municipal Court
Contact Us Now
Call and speak with one of our DUI Lawyers in Maysville, GA, or visit our website for more DUI information. You have nothing to lose by allowing us to provide you with a free case evaluation. Our Maysville DUI Attorneys look forward to speaking with you and discussing your Maysville DUI case.