Hoschton DUI Lawyer - Hoschton DUI Attorney
Our Hoschton DUI Attorneys have been handling DUI cases for over 25 years. Richard Lawson started his legal career as a prosecutor but has been using that experience to help negotiate reduced sentences and get cases dismissed for his clients. If you have been charged with a DUI in Hoschton, call now for a free case evaluation. Lawson and Berry is the AVVO TOP-RANKED DUI firm in Hoschton, Georgia and throughout the Metro Atlanta area.
30 Day Warning!
If you have been arrested for DUI in Hoschton or anywhere else in Jackson County, you only have 30 days to file an appeal or your license will automatically be suspended. It costs $150 to submit this request. However, you do have the option to install an ignition interlock device instead of requesting the hearing. No decision should be made without first consulting with a Hoschton DUI Attorney. A failure to request a hearing or install the device will result in a maximum of a 12-month license suspension. Call now to protect your driving privileges.
What is Considered DUI in Georgia?
DUI is a frequently charged crime throughout the United States. Over the years, stories of alcohol-related fatalities are all over the news and Georgia has responded by passing strict DUI laws. A person will be charged with DUI in Georgia either as DUI per se or DUI less safe.
DUI per se is defined under O.C.G.A § 40-6-391(a)(5) and states that it is illegal for “any person to drive or be in actual physical control of any moving vehicle or being in actual physical control from alcohol consumed before such driving or being in actual physical control ended.” DUI per se requires that the driver's blood alcohol concentration is .08 grams or more if the driver is 21 years or older. This means that if your BAC is .08 or greater you are, by law, under the influence of alcohol. Even if your level of tolerance is much higher and you were not actually “drunk,” you can still be charged with DUI per se. Commercial drivers can be convicted of DUI per se with a BAC of .04. If the driver is under the age of 21, then they can be charged with DUI if their BAC is .02 grams or more within 3 hours of driving. Again, it is immaterial whether you were actually impaired or a less safe driver.
A person can also be charged with DUI less safe. O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391(1) states that a person shall not “drive or be in actual physical control of any moving vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive.” A DUI less safe charge does not require that the officer observe the person driving the vehicle. The officer can use his observations to support a DUI less safe charge. These observations can include slurred speech, the smell of alcohol on their breath, bloodshot eyes, and an admission of drinking.
In sum, Georgia criminalizes driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol by driving with a BAC over the legal limit or when driving in a manner that is less safe for the person to drive. DU is a highly technical crime, and it is critical to hire an experienced Hoschton DUI Attorney.
Over 20 Years of DUI Experience
DUI cases are among the most challenging cases to defend because they require specialized knowledge of both science and law that other cases do not require. There are also constitutional protections that must be investigated. Another reason DUI cases are difficult to defend is that judges and juries often already have a negative impression about drinking and driving. While juries are supposed to be impartial, many people already have deep personal beliefs which can make it difficult to overcome even when you are innocent.
That is why you should hire the best Hoschton DUI Attorney. We have been defending DUI cases for decades and understand the complexities. Do not make the mistake of trusting a general practitioner with your case. If they do not handle DUI cases daily, then they do not have the expertise it takes to get your case dismissed or have the charges reduced.
Our DUI Lawyers in Hoschton have over 50 combined years of experience defending DUI cases. Richard Lawson was a former prosecutor and understands how the other side thinks because he was once in their shoes. He will use his experience prosecuting DUI cases to helping minimize the penalties in your case. Call now for a free case evaluation.
The Penalty for a DUI Conviction in Hoschton
Whether this is your first, second, third, or fourth DUI in Hoschton, the consequences are substantial. Even though DUI is generally charged as a misdemeanor, the penalties will affect many aspects of your life. If your case results in a conviction, you can expect the following penalties:
- Jail time
- Driver's license suspension
- Hefty fines
- Alcohol or drug treatment
We want you to understand that you do not have to face these consequences! Our Hoschton DUI Lawyers will work hard to get your case dismissed or to get the penalties reduced. A charge is not the same as a conviction, and your case can be defended! Contact us now, and we will investigate every detail of your case to ensure you receive the best defense possible.
Hoschton Municipal Court
Hoschton Municipal Court is responsible for traffic and city ordinance violations that occur within the city limits of Hoschton. Hoschton Municipal Court is located at 79 City Square, Hoschton, GA 30548. The main phone number is 706-824-1911.
Call Today and Discover Your Options if Charged with DUI in Hoschton
Contacting our experienced Hoschton DUI Lawyers about your case will help ease your mind about the DUI process. We promise that you will know what to expect and we will answer all of your questions no matter when you need us. Our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week because we value being accessible to our clients. If you were charged with a DUI in Hoschton, call us immediately for a free case evaluation.