Have you been arrested for a Third or Repeat DUI in Georgia?
A Third DUI in Georgia or a repeat DUI in Georgia can be a life-changing event. The consequences are severe. They can include loss of license for up to 5 years. They can include significant jail time. Georgia DUI Attorney Richard Lawson is trained to defend those charged with multiple DUI offenses. An arrest does not mean you are guilty. Many attorneys have no idea that there are defenses to a DUI arrest in Georgia. An arrest does not mean you are guilty Georgia DUI Attorney Richard Lawson has been defending DUI cases in Georgia for more than 20 years. He is a former DUI Prosecutor, trained by the same people prosecuting the case against you. He can help you avoid the severe Georgia DUI Penalties associated with a 3rd DUI arrest.
30 Day Warning!!
If you are arrested for a 3rd DUI in Georgia, you only have 30 days to file for your ALS Hearing. This appeal will be filed by your Georgia DUI Attorney. If this request is not filed, your drivers license can be suspended for 30 days or as much as a year. If you have had a prior administrative license suspension, the suspension will be a year in length. If you are charged with refusing to take the State's test, your suspension can also be for a year. Act now to save your right to drive. Your Georgia DUI Lawyer will file the appeal necessary to keep you driving.
If you are dealing with an arrest for a third or repeat DUI offense in Georgia? If so (or if you have multiple prior DUI convictions) you may expect to be jailed for a minimum of 15 days and often, much longer. You may also be fined over $5,000 plus surcharges, and will likely be subject to a lengthy probation sentence and driver's license suspension of up to five years.
Reinstating your driver's license after two years may be possible upon completion of DUI School, installation of an ignition interlock system, etc. You will be subject to a minimum of 240 hours of community service and must submit to a clinical evaluation for alcohol and drug dependency. This assessment most likely will leave you facing completion of an alcohol or drug treatment program. Any DUI charge is taken seriously in Georgia, but if you have multiple DUI convictions, it is vital that you contact a Georgia DUI lawyer immediately following your arrest to ensure that you are protected.
With multiple offenses, you may also face being treated as a habitual violator that is traditionally charged with felonies. A third DUI is typically considered a misdemeanor; but may be regarded as being a high and aggravated misdemeanor. This impacts penalties such as reducing your ability to qualify for good time (2 for 1 credit) during your stay in jail. Lengthy sentences are especially challenging without the hope of good time.
In addition to punishment, you will declared a DUI Habitual Violator. Being HV in Georgia means that your license will be suspended for 5 years. After 2 years, you may qualify for a limited permit with the installation of an ignition interlock device. While being a Habitual Violator in Georgia, if you are found driving, you will be charged with the felony offense of driving while be declared an habitual violator. You can be jailed for up to 5 years and have further license suspension as well. You must be very careful not to drive while being HV. A felony will change your life.
Typical punishments for a 3rd DUI in Georgia can include:
12 - 36 months of probation (depending on whether there are other associated offenses)
120 days to 12 months in jail ( a minimum of 15 days must be served; however few people only get 15 days)
Fine of $1000 - $5000
240 hours of community service (30 full, 8 hour days)
5 years of license suspension ( limited permit can be available after 2 years with lgnition Interlock)
Surrender of License Plate
17 weeks of Alcohol and drug counseling
Mandatory Treatment DUI Court Programs -Court Supervised Intensive Alcohol and Drug Treatment
If this is your third DUI in Georgia, call a Georgia DUI Lawyer today.
Publication of Photo in the local newspaper at your expense
Being Declared a Habitual Violator - HV Status.
Status of High and Aggravated Misdemeanor with fines up to $5000 and no good time credit ( 2 for 1 ) for any jail-time given as a result of a conviction. That means you would be forced to serve every day of your sentence.
OUR EXPERIENCE IS THE DIFFERENCE:
Contact our office 365 days a year, 24 hours day. That includes nights and weekends. We are always here to help you with our skill and with our desire to assist you in your most difficult moments. Every case should be investigated. Every case has possibilities. No one is automatically guilty just because they are charged with a DUI in Georgia
The Penalties in Georgia for a DUI can be harsh. We can help!