Have You Been Cited For Failing to Adhere to a Traffic Control Device in Georgia?
Have You Been Cited For A Red Light Violation in Georgia?
There are several ways a driver can be charged with failing to obey a traffic control device in Georgia. It includes running a red light, failing to pause at a flashing yellow light, and not stopping for a flashing red light. Furthermore, the violations can be either seen by a police officer or detected by cameras posted at intersections. Attorney Richard Lawson has been defending Georgia drivers for more than 25 years. He is a top-rated defense attorney in Georgia. For client recommendations, please check out the reviews on AVVO. If you have been charged with failing to obey a traffic device or another traffic offense in Georgia, contact our Red Light Violation Lawyers in Georgia now.
Failing to Adhere to Traffic Control Device in Georgia Defined:
The driver of any vehicle shall obey the instructions of an official traffic-control device applicable thereto, placed in accordance with this chapter, unless otherwise directed by a police officer, subject to the exceptions granted the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle in this chapter.
A person can be charged with a red light violation when they fail to come to a complete stop at a red light. Many people are unaware that this also requires the driver to clear the intersection before the light turns red.
What To Do When Approaching Flashing Lights in Georgia
Furthermore, this statute applies to flashing signals. When approaching a flashing red light, drivers are required to come to a complete stop or they could receive a ticket. Drivers must also yield to other vehicles and pedestrians. Where there is a flashing yellow light, drivers should slow down and be prepared to stop. If all of the lights are out at an intersection, the driver must come to a complete stop. If law enforcement is present, obey their instructions or else proceed with caution.
Consequences of Failing to Obey a Traffic Control Device in Georgia
A red light ticket issued by a uniformed police officer who claims to have observed the offense is a moving violation that is assessed against the driver. The offense carries a maximum fine of $1,000 and three points on your licenses. For drivers under 21 years of age, 3 points is a big deal. An accumulation of 4 or more points will result in a license suspension. For drivers 21 and older, an accumulation of 15 or more points can result in a license suspension. That is why you need an experienced Georgia Red Light Violation Lawyer because you do not need 3 points on your license for running a red light.
Red Light Camera Tickets
Georgia is one of the many states that allow red light cameras. However, the good news is that tickets from these cameras are not considered moving violations and do not affect your insurance rates. They still carry a fine up to $70. The $70 fine is sent to the owner of the car. This gets problematic when the owner of the vehicle was not the one driving. Failing to pay the ticket promptly can result in additional fees or collection efforts.
There Are Options When Charged with Failing to Obey a Traffic Control Device in Georgia
Our Georgia Red Light Violation Lawyers are dedicated to helping people charged with DUI charges as well as traffic violations. That is why we pride ourselves on being available to you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Don't let a small mistake end up on your driving record. Call us now for a free case evaluation.