Understanding Georgia License Classes and How They Can Affect Your Rights:
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) offers various license classes to its residents. This Georgia DUI Information website is committed to making sure citizens understand about their Georgia Drivers License. Below is an explanation of these classes:
New Drivers in Georgia Ages 15-16
A Class CP instructional permit can be obtained at 15 years old. Applicants under the age of 18 are required to have a parent, guardian, responsible adult or authorized Driver Training Instructor to sign the application for a driver's license. The signatories also have the authority to request the driver's license to be revoked at any time before the minor's 18th birthday. Persons under age 18 cannot apply for or keep a driver's license or permit if withdrawn from school or if the person has 10 or more unexcused absences or has any conduct infractions.
Applicants must pass a vision exam and a knowledge exam. The minimum acceptable vision is 20/60 in one eye, with or without corrective lenses, and a field of vision of, at least, 140 degrees. The knowledge exam consists of a road rules test and a road signs test. A minimum score of 15 out of 20 correct answers, on each test, is required to pass. With an instructional permit, the driver is allowed to operate a class C vehicle, but only when accompanied by a person at least 21 years old with a valid driver's license.
- No major traffic violations that resulted in the suspension of the Instructional Permit and prohibit issuance of a Class D license.
- A minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience with at least 6 hours of driving at night.
- If 16 years of age, Joshua's Law requires completion of am approved driver education course.
- Pass Vision Exam.
- Pass applicable Road Skills Test.
Any person holding a Class D license is not permitted to drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 am with no exceptions. During the first six months after the license is issued, immediate family members can ride in the vehicle.
After this period, during the following six months, only one passenger under the age of 21 who is not an immediate family member may ride in the vehicle with a Class D driver. Thereafter, only three passengers under the age of 21 who are not members of the driver's immediate family may ride in the vehicle. More information about Georgia Youthful Offenders can be found throughout this website.
Georgia Drivers 18 Years Old or Older:
When the driver turns 18, he or she can upgrade a Class D license to a Class C “under 21” license. The rules for drivers between the ages of 18 and 21 are hybrid in nature. That means, some of the rules are similar insofar as point accumulation with the difference being that a driver under the age of 18 cannot accumulate 4 total points or he will face a suspension. Whereas, a driver between the ages of 18-21 cannot be convicted of a "4 or more point offense," or he will be suspended. Additionally. any driver under the age of 21 cannot have an alcohol concentration in their system greater than .02 grams, or they will be considered DUI. Whereas, the limit for a driver over the age of 21 is .08 grams. Alcohol concentrations are related to the information from Georgia Breath and Blood Testing.
Other Types of Vehicles and Drivers License Classes:
At the age of 16, drivers are eligible for a Class MP instructional permit for motorcycle operation after completion of Driver Education Training. The course is not required if you are over age 16. The permit is valid for six months. It is not mandatory for a Class M motorcycle license to obtain a Class MP permit. The permit only allows operation of a motorcycle during daylight hours and not on limited access roadways. No passengers are allowed.
Class M licenses are required to operate a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle. Applicants must be 17 years of age or older. A Class C driver's license is not required before applying for a Class M license.
A Class E license is required in order to operate a truck trailer or tractor-semi trailer combination in which the combination weight exceeds 26,001 pounds and the unit being towed exceeds 10,000 pounds. Applicants must be able to show that they have a minimum of three months or 3,000 miles of experience driving this type of vehicle and possess a Class C driver's license.
A Class F license is required to operate vehicles weighing 26,001 or more pounds or vehicles towing a vehicle weighing less than 10,000 pounds. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and possess a Class C driver's license.
Class EP and FP instructional permits allow the driver to operate a vehicle of the appropriate class when accompanied by a licensed driver that is qualified, fit, and capable of operating the vehicle being driven, and seated beside the driver as an instructor.
Class A commercial driver's licenses are required to operate any combination of vehicles (trailer included) weighing 26,001 pounds or more, provided the vehicles being towed exceeds 10,000 pounds. Applicants must be at least 18 years old, but only intrastate driving is permitted until the age of 21.
Class B commercial driver's licenses are required for operation of a single vehicle weighing 26,001 pounds or more, or any vehicle towing another vehicle weighing no more than 10,000 pounds. This license does not cover vehicles in Class A. Applicants must be at least 18 years old, but only intrastate driving is permitted until the age of 21.
A Class AP or BP instructional permit is available to allow operation of a Class A or Class B vehicle while a licensed driver at least 21 years old is present and seated beside the driver.
A Class C driver's license is required to operate a vehicle weighing no more than 26,000 pounds, any vehicle towing a vehicle weighing no more than 10,000 pounds, any vehicle towing a vehicle weighing more than 10,000 pounds provided the weight of the combination of vehicles does not exceed 26,000 pounds, and any self-propelled or towed vehicle that is equipped to serve as personal or family temporary living quarters for recreational, travel, or camping purposes.
Class C commercial licenses are only issued if the vehicle is designed to carry sixteen or more passengers (including the driver), or utilized to transport hazardous materials in quantities that require a placard.
Endorsements are required for operating passenger vehicles, double/triple trailers, hazardous material haulers, school buses, tank vehicles, and drivers acting as a limousine chauffeur. Restrictions can be placed on a driver's license to signify requirements specific to that driver. Common restrictions include corrective lenses, mechanical aids, automatic transmission required, no passengers, no expressways, daylight only, and prosthetic aids required.
Georgia Limited Permits and Georgia Restricted Licenses:
A limited driving permit may be issued by the Georgia Department of Driver Services for drivers whose license has been suspended to allow the person to drive in limited circumstances during the suspension period. A limited driving permit will only be issued for the following suspensions:
- Suspensions imposed pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-22(a.1)(2) due to excessive school absences, withdrawals from school, or misconduct at school;
- First or second points suspensions imposed pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-57(d);
- First mandatory suspension imposed pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-63(a)(1);
- First administrative license suspension imposed within five (5) years pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-67.2(a)(1);
- Third administrative license suspension imposed within five (5) years pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-67.2(a)(3);
- Third controlled substance suspension imposed within five (5) years pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-75;
- Second suspension for driving under the influence imposed within five (5) years pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-63(a)(2);
- Suspensions imposed pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-57.1 following a conviction for a four (4) point speeding ticket; and
- Ignition interlock limited driving permits pursuant to other laws allowing such permits
Limited driving permits are only issued if refusing to issue the permit would cause extreme hardship to the applicant and only authorizes driving to and from work, school or college, scheduled medical care or obtaining prescription drugs, attending regularly scheduled meetings of treatment support organizations, attending court-ordered driver improvement courses, attending court, reporting to probation, community service, or transporting an immediate family member who does not hold a valid driver's license to work, school, medical care, or to obtain prescription drugs. Of course the best way to avoid a limited permit is to fight your Georgia DUI Case.
Call Today and Get Your Questions Answered:
If you have questions about the different classes of Georgia Licenses and how they may affect a pending DUI or pending Drug case in Georgia, contact our office 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. An experienced Georgia DUI Lawyer and Georgia DUI Attorney will be there to answer any question your have. Contact us now. We will provide you Georgia DUI Information when you need it most.