According to reports, Georgia State Patrol troopers issued 8,389 citations in 2018 since the Hands Free Georgia Act was enforced in July of 2018.
That's over double the amount of citations that were written in the first half of the year. However, Department of Transportation statistics show that traffic fatalities fell close to 7% last year as well. As of right now, it is believed that the new law and the increase in safe driving is correlated.
Now, another change to the distracted driving law in our state is being considered, and it involves teenage drivers. The new change will involve banning the use of electronic devices by teenagers while driving even if they use hands-free technology.
According to the provisions of the law behind distracted driving in Georgia, when it comes to cell phones or other technological devices, drivers are forbidden from:
- Having a phone in their hand or touching any part of their body while talking on their phone while driving
- Writing, reading, or sending text messages, e-mails, social media content and other internet data while on the road
- Watching videos while on the road
- Using phones to record video when on the road
- Touching phones to activate or program any music streaming application while on the road
A conviction for texting while driving in Georgia has serious consequences. The fine for a first conviction is $50.00 and 1 point assessed against the driver's license. The fine is $100.00 and 2 points for a second conviction and $150.00 and 3 points for three or more conviction. The fines for a 2nd or 3rd offense only apply when date of a 2nd or 3rd conviction takes place within 24 months of the date of the first conviction.
In some jurisdictions, if you are a first time offender of violating the Hands Free Georgia Act, then you may be able to hav the charge dropped by demonstrating to the court that you have obtained a device that allows you to talk on the phone with hands-free technology.
As with most any other traffic violations, if an officer believes that you have committed a violation or that he has a reason to pull you over, it can lead to further investigation - such as an investigation for DUI in Georgia.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact us today. A Georgia DUI Lawyer can help you today.