A Closer Look at Super Speeder Laws in Georgia After Athens Man Accused of Driving 120 MPH During Police Chase

Posted by Richard Lawson | Sep 24, 2018 | 0 Comments

Greg Taylor from Athens allegedly drove 120 MPH during a police chase on Friday in Clarke County. According to authorities, he is also wanted on several warrants out of Oglethorpe County.

Taylor was able to get away from the police during the high-speed chase. However, his vehicle was later located and impounded.

Anyone with information is asked to call 911.

Amongst the other charges, Taylor is definitely facing citations for speeding in Georgia and fleeing or attempting to elude an officer in Georgia. 

As a Georgia DUI Attorney, I handle many different types of traffic violations as they tend to be apart of almost every case for DUI in Georgia.

Super Speeder in Georgia

Georgia Law (O.C.G.A § 40-6-189) states that drivers in Georgia must pay an additional penalty for excessive speeding. If you are driving on a two-lane divided road, it applies when you are going 75 MPH or over.  If you are driving on a highway, it applies if you are going 85 MPH or over.  In both situations, the speed limit is irrelevant. This is classified as a Super Speeder in Georgia.

The additional fine amount for a Super Speeder is $200.00.  This fine is additional to whatever fine was paid or collected in court for the speeding ticket.  The extra fine confuses many people who do not hire representation.  Again, the fine collected in court is not related to the extra fine.

The Georgia DDS will receive notice after you are convicted for speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or highway or at 85 mph and above on any road or highway in Georgia. They will then notify you via first-class mail of the Super Speeder violation.  The letter will come to the address listed on your driver's license. That is one of the many reasons why it's so important to make sure that the address on your driver's license is always current and correct.

Practice Note 

A Super Speeder is not associated with points on your license, but a failure to pay the fine will result in a suspension of your driver's license. You have 120 days after receiving notice from DDS to pay the fine.

If your license is suspended, you may find out if a police officer stops you for an ordinary traffic offense. You will then be arrested and taken to jail, facing a minimum jail sentence of 2 days in jail and a minimum fine of $500 if convicted of driving on a suspended license. Your license will then be suspended for an additional six months as part of the penalty for driving on a suspended license.

If you or a loved one has been accused of a serious traffic violation, contact a Georgia DUI Lawyer today.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Managing Partner at Lawson & Berry:


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Georgia DUI Defense Attorneys

At the Law Office of Richard S. Lawson, we have offices conveniently located throughout metro Atlanta and throughout Georgia. If we do not have a convenient office, we will come to you. We practice throughout Metro Atlanta and North Georgia. If your case is in an area we do not serve, we will find you an attorney in your area free of charge. Our office is part of a State-wide network of Georgia DUI Lawyers. Contact us 24/7 for immediate legal help. Our attorneys are standing by. Your DUI Case will not defend itself. Your Best Georgia DUI Defense Begins Here!