Deputies in Coweta County are currently searching for a man who allegedly shot another driver during a road-rage incident off of GA 27.
The unknown man shot at the other vehicle twice. One of the shots hit that driver's left leg. As of right now, there are no other details have been released. The suspect was reported as driving a black F-150. The sheriff's office is requesting help from the public.
As a Georgia DUI Attorney, I will outline the first offense that the suspect was most likely guilty of in the road rage incident above.
Aggressive Driving in Georgia
The Georgia Code defines aggressive driving in Georgia in O.C.G.A. §40-6-397 as:
Driving with the intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person, including without limitation violating Code Section 40-6-42 [overtaking and passing], 40-6-48 [improper lane change or usage], 40-6-49 [following too closely], 40-6-123 [failing to signal], 40-6-184 [driving too slowly], 40-6-312 [lane usage by motorcycles], or 40-6-390 [reckless driving] with such intent.
Aggressive driving is not nearly as commonly charged as reckless driving in Georgia. Typically the offense of aggressive driving escalates into other more serious offenses by the time law enforcement arrives.
Aggressive driving does not need to target another driver. This is to allow any type of aggressive driving directed at pedestrians and passengers in other vehicles as well as passengers in the vehicle driven by the defendant.
Any person convicted of aggressive driving shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature. A high and aggravated misdemeanor in Georgia is punishable by a fine up to $5,000 or by incarceration for up to 12 months, or both. Because it is labeled “high and aggravated,” the amount of earned time allowance will be limited to no more than 4 days per month for jail sentences.
An aggressive driving conviction will add 6 points to your license. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will also assess points for aggressive driving convictions that occurred in other states.
A plea of nolo contendere to an aggressive driving charge will prevent the assessment of any points, but the Department of Driver Services will only accept one plea of nolo contendere for a moving traffic violation in any five year period without assigning points to your driving record.
Bottom line - don't handle a case on your own. The best method is to hire a Georgia DUI Lawyer who can help you with your case.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment