I've mentioned in a few of my posts recently the risk of a Fourth DUI in Georgia - especially with crimes such as Georgia DUI Child Endangerment. In today's post, I will elaborate on the law and penalties in regard to a fourth DUI in Georgia. A fourth DUI in this state within 10 years will be classified as a felony offense in Georgia. Only convictions on or after July 1, 2008 are considered for this purpose.
This is why I refer to the fourth DUI as a Georgia Felony DUI.
Georgia DUI Penalties are extremely harsh – felony DUI penalties are even harsher.
The minimum penalty is a one year jail sentence of which all but 90 days can be probated, with credit for any time served after arrest, and a $1,000.00 fine. The maximum penalty for a fourth DUI conviction in Georgia within 10 years is 5 years in jail and a $5,000.00 fine plus court surcharges.
- Mandatory requirements include:
- 60 days (480 hours) community service
- Georgia DUI school
- 5 years probation less any time served in jail
- A clinical evaluation
- Any recommended substance abuse treatment
The penalties increase further if your fourth DUI is also your third Georgia DUI or subsequent DUI within 5 years, you must pay a $25.00 fee to publish a notice of your conviction and your photograph in your county newspaper. On top of that, you will also be required to surrender the license plates to any vehicle registered in your name.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a Felony DUI in Georgia, you need to act now to protect your rights.
As I outlined above, you are facing severe and life-altering penalties. Our office is dedicated to protecting both your rights and your freedom. Every Georgia DUI Lawyerin our office is dedicated to investigating your case and finding what Georgia DUI Defensesapply to your specific case.
We understand that people make mistakes, that people are wrongfully accused, and that people deserve help. Contact us today.