Disturbing reports out of Cobb County reveal that a driver is responsible for an 8-year-old ending up on life support in a coma.
Police report that Eesah Johnson was hit Monday afternoon after leaving home. Johnson was hit by a vehicle and ended up 30 feet down the road. The driver fled the scene. The little boy is suffering from sever head trauma and several broken bones.
In today's post, I will outline the offense of hit and run in Georgia.
Hit and Run in Georgia
Hit and Run in Georgia is defined by Georgia Law in O.C.G.A. §40-6-270 as a list of responsibilities.
According to the law… The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance. The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
Furthermore, if such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person having knowingly committed hit and run, shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a serious traffic violation such as Hit and Run or DUI in Georgia, contact our offices today. A Georgia DUI Lawyer can help you with your case now. Your defense starts here with us.