Covington, Ga. - Georgia State Troopers are still in the midst of investigating a fatal crash that happened in Newton County.
The collision happened late Friday night on Flat Shoals Road. It happened as a result of two cars failing to maintain their lanes and hit each other head on. One driver died at the scene and the other survived the wreck, however, their condition is not currently being released.
No charges have been filed yet, however, as a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I will outline the law behind the offense of vehicular homicide.
Vehicular Homicide in Georgia
Vehicular homicide in Georgia is defined by the Georgia Code in O.C.G.A §40-6-393 in two separate degrees. A person will be charged with homicide by vehicle in the first degree when, without malice aforethought, a death is caused by the person either unlawfully passing a school bus, reckless driving, fleeing or attempting to elude a police office, or leaving the scene of the accident.
Homicide by vehicle in the second degree occurs when death results due to a violation of any other statute other than the ones specified for homicide in the first degree.
So depending on the facts of the case as well as how it is charged, a count of vehicular homicide can either be a misdemeanor or a felony offense.
A first degree vehicular homicide conviction results in a prison term between three and fifteen years. Further, the crime will be deemed a felony. While a second degree vehicular homicide conviction results in penalties of a fine up to $1,000 or a prison term up to 12 months, or both.
Call our offices now if you or a loved one has been accused of committing a serious traffic crime. We can help you now.