(404) 816-4440

Blog

About Richard Lawson

Do I Have 10 Days or 30 Days To Save My License If I’ve Been Arrested for DUI in Georgia?

Posted by Richard Lawson | Oct 01, 2018 | 0 Comments

As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I answer questions like this all the time. Unfortunately, with the different types of limited permits, and ill-informed officers, people get really confused about how long they actually have to file the appeal of their license suspension. Georgia DUI Laws are not only complicated but become even more overwhelming for someone who has just been arrested for DUI in Georgia.

In today's post, I will outline part of the Georgia DUI Process which is the ALS process. It is the difference between keeping your right to drive on Georgia roadways and a license suspension.

ALS in Georgia

ALS stands for Administrative License Suspension in Georgia. Many people refer to the ALS process as the 30-day letter. This is because you or your attorney must file an appeal of your Georgia Driver's License suspension within exactly 30 days of your arrest

I stress how difficult it is to break down Georgia DUI Law in almost every post that I write. I hear from Georgia Drivers who have been arrested for a DUI in Georgia who have already unfortunately missed their opportunity to save their licenses.

This is why hiring experienced representation such as a Georgia DUI Attorney is so important. Most people and even general practitioners do not understand the importance of timing in Georgia DUI cases. DUI Lawyers understand that if you do not file the appeal of your license suspension, then the result is that you'll lose your license. 

There is a $150 filing fee required to submit the appeal. If the appeal is not filed, then there are two different types of license suspension that a driver who has been arrested for DUI might face.

First is the 12-month Suspension. This "hard" suspension happens if you refused sobriety testing during your DUI arrest, and then you do not file your appeal.

Second is the 30-day Suspension. This suspension happens if you submitted to testing, and then if you attend Georgia DUI School and pay a $210 reinstatement fee, you can reinstate your driver's license after 30 days.

Again, if you or a loved one has been charged with a serious traffic violation, such as a DUI in Georgia, contact our offices today. We can handle your ALS Hearing as well as your court case.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard Lawson has devoted his entire career to DUI Defense. He exclusively handles DUI Cases. As a former DUI Prosecutor he knows both sides of your case. Put his experience to work for you. You only have 30 days to protect your right to drive. Call now for immediate attention. We are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Choosing the Best DUI Lawyer

Richard lawson logo

When you are arrested for DUI in Georgia, finding the right Lawyer is Job #1. At the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson we will investigate your case and find the best possible legal defense to your DUI in Georgia. You are in good hands with Richard Lawson and his associates. We will work tirelessly to help you while compassionately holding your hand throughout the entire DUI Defense Process.

Georgia DUI Defense Attorneys

At the Law Office of Richard S. Lawson, we have offices conveniently located throughout metro Atlanta and throughout Georgia. If we do not have a convenient office, we will come to you. We practice throughout Metro Atlanta and North Georgia. If your case is in an area we do not serve, we will find you an attorney in your area free of charge. Our office is part of a State-wide network of Georgia DUI Lawyers. Contact us 24/7 for immediate legal help. Our attorneys are standing by. Your DUI Case will not defend itself. Your Best Georgia DUI Defense Begins Here!