Chamblee, Ga. - According to authorities in DeKalb County, the driver of a stolen pickup is facing a litany of charges.
The suspect allegedly stole a truck from the parking lot a local business off of Buford Highway. Unbeknownst to the suspect, the truck had a young boy inside the truck. Once he found the child, he removed the toddler from the truck and continued down the road. He ran a red light at the intersection of Chamblee Tucker and Buford Highway. This led to a crash with four other vehicles. The impact resulted in the fatality of one of the drivers.
The suspect is facing charges of vehicular homicide, speeding, hit and run, kidnapping, cruelty to children, and theft by taking.
As a DeKalb County DUI Lawyer, many of the serious traffic violations faced by the suspect are closely related to DUI in Georgia. In today's post, I will outline the law behind the offense of hit and run in today's post.
Hit and Run in Georgia
Hit and Run in Georgia is defined in O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270 as:
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements of subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years.
If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
If you or a loved one has been arrested, call us today.