A three-car crash occurred on October 16, 2018, in Hall County, Georgia as the result of a driver under the influence, according to the Georgia State Patrol. The accident ended with one woman dead, another facing multiple charges, and three people in the hospital, including a one-year-old child.
Angela Riseden, 22, of Oakwood, GA was driving her Toyota Yaris when she made a right turn from Valley Green Dr. to Ga. 13. She failed to yield to Brittany Dade, 30, of Gainesville who was then driving southbound on Ga. 13. Lucis Holloway, a one-year-old child, was in the car with Dade at the time of the accident.
Dade hit Riseden as the result of Riseden's failure to yield. Riseden was forced off the road, but Dade and the child were forced into oncoming traffic. A third vehicle driven by Kaitlin Loggins, 23, was hit by Dade's car.
Riseden died at the scene of the accident, while Loggins and Dade were taken to the hospital with non-life threatening injuries. The one-year-old child was taken to Scottish Rite Hospital and is expected to fully recover.
As a result of the accident, Dade now faces charges of DUI and endangering a child under 14 while under the influence.
Endangering a Child Under 14 While Under the Influence
Endangering a child while driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol may lead to very serious criminal charges and penalties.
DUI child endangerment is an additional offense that will be charged alongside your DUI. It is a separate offense, meaning you can face jail or prison time for each offense separately. If a person drives while under the influence and has a child under the age of 14 in their car, that person can be charged with the offense of DUI child endangerment.
The Risk of Multiple Charges
For every child under the age of 14 in a driver's car, a separate offense can be charged. This means that if there are three children in the car under the age of 14, you could face your DUI charge plus three separate counts of DUI Child Endangerment.
Penalties for DUI Child Endangerment
The possible penalties for conviction of the offense include:
- First or Second Offense: Driver is guilty of a misdemeanor. Jail from 0-12 months, and/or a fine of not more than $1,000.
- Third or Subsequent Offense: Driver is guilty of a felony. Prison for not less than one year and not more than three years, and/or a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $5,000.
Driver's license penalties with this offense are also more severe. Each offense is counted as a separate DUI offense, so with children in the car, your one instance of driving under the influence will be treated as multiple convictions for purposes of a driver's license suspension.
Consult a Georgia DUI Attorney
If you face charges of DUI and DUI child endangerment, your rights are at risk. You face high fines, long prison sentences, and the loss of your right to drive.