Benjamin Harris Rollins has been charged with DUI, vehicular homicide, driving with a suspended license, and hit-and-run after an accident last Friday. Rollins was driving home from Moon Shadow Tavern in Tucker when he hit another car head-on. One person died at the scene while another passenger sustained serious injuries. Rollins was pulled from his vehicle by a witness to the accident, and his first words were “I don't have a license” and “I can't stay.” He proceeded to flee on foot from the accident, but officers caught up to him later that night.
Rollins is facing multiple charges, and just a DUI conviction by itself will have significant repercussions. On top of the charges, officers found out that Rollins had been charged with a DUI two years ago and had lost his license. What was already a terrible situation has escalated due to his prior DUI.
Lets take a look at the possible punishments Rollins could be facing if convicted of the charges. As Georgia DUI Attorneys, our goal is to mitigate the charges and the consequences. However, it is important for clients to understand what the potential punishments are.
Second DUI in Georgia
A charge for a second DUI in five years presents harsher penalties but is still considered a misdemeanor. Under Georgia law, a second Georgia DUI requires a minimum jail time of three days but 10-90 days is a common term. The license suspension is increased up to 18 months with the possibility of a limited permit. However, the first four months will be a hard suspension of your license. Similar to a first Georgia DUI, you are required to do community service, DUI school and an alcohol and drug evaluation.
With a second DUI, you must surrender your license plates and have your picture published in local newspapers.
Vehicular homicide in Georgia is one of the most severe charges anyone can face. They can be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances.
Misdemeanor vehicular homicide occurs when the death is a result of the person violating fundamental traffic laws. Some of these basic traffic laws include rolling a stop sign, failure to maintain lane, driving in the gore, or illegal passing.
Vehicular homicide becomes a felony charge when the death resulted from DUI or reckless driving. Therefore, if Rollins is convicted of a DUI, that would be grounds for a felony vehicular homicide charge as well.
The punishment for vehicular homicide in Georgia is between three and fifteen years in prison. Rollins may also be subject to a civil lawsuit by the victim's family to recover pain and suffering damages.
Driving on a Suspended License
In Georgia, the punishment for driving on a suspended Georgia license is that the suspension will be increased by at least another six months.
Hit and Run
Leaving the scene of the accident - Hit and Run in Georgia is another offense that comes with significant penalties. It is considered to be a more severe crime than DUI in Georgia. The consequences of fleeing the scene of an accident is a hard license suspension for at least four months.
In conclusion, Rollins is facing heavy penalties. He needs the assistance of an experienced Georgia DUI Attorney to help merge some of the charges or try to get them dismissed.
No matter if you have been charged with a first DUI, second DUI, fleeing, or vehicular homicide, our office can help. Our DUI experience is unmatched, and we are prepared to assist with your case today. Contact us now.