Atlanta, Ga. – The Atlanta Police Department recently released information concerning a multi-vehicle wreck that resulted in the serious injuries of two drivers as well as the fatality of a motorcyclist.
The wreck happened earlier in the month on November 4th. The collisions occurred off of the Downtown Connector near the North Avenue exit. However, officers now believe that another vehicle was involved that fled the scene of the accident. The investigation is being conduct by the Atlanta PD Hit and Run Unit.
As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I handle cases involving accidents and criminal charges quite often. Many times, hit and run is just one of the charges in a case involving DUI in Georgia. In today's post, I will focus on the law behind the offense of hit and run as it is outlined by the Georgia Code.
Hit and Run in Georgia
Hit and Run in Georgia is defined in O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270 as:
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements of subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years.
If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a serious traffic offense such as hit and run or DUI in Georgia, call our offices now. We are available 7 days a week to help you with your case.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment