For years when someone was arrested for a DUI in Georgia, they had 10 business days to file an appeal of their automatic license suspension.
Georgia 10 Day Letter in DUI Cases:
For any case that occurred before July 1, 2017, the 10 day rule still applied.
For any case that occurred on or after July 1, 2017, the 10 day letter was replaced by a decision to either file an appeal within 30 days or install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
I have spoken to several potential clients in the past month and many are misinformed as to the length of time to file an appeal or the options therein. It appears that several Georgia DUI Attorneys (and I must say that lightly) are not informed about the new law, and as a result, they are misinforming the people who call their office.
I have never been so arrogant as to presume that I am the only Georgia DUI Attorney qualified to handle someone's case. I am not. I would, however, tell anyone reading this article that if the lawyer with who you are speaking does not understand the repeal of the Georgia 10 Day Rule and repeal of the Georgia 10 Day Letter, then they are not qualified to handle your case.
Be careful when choosing someone to help you with your DUI case. There are experts that are trained by the same people prosecuting you, and there are people who dabble in DUI defense. The fees you will be charged are likely the same, so hire the best.
If the police have charged you with a DUI in Georgia you have 30 days to make extremely important decisions. Never make those decisions without first speaking to our office. We will help you make the right decision, while there is still time.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment