On Sunday, April 8th, Eric Grigsby was arrested on DUI charges. Grigsby was the assistant principal at Waddell Elementary School in Columbus, Georgia. According to Grigsby, he was trying to turn around, but he was unaware that he was on fairgrounds. Witnesses said that his car went through a barricade into the pedestrian walkway of the Spring Fling parade.
When officers arrived at the scene, they noted that Grigsby had glossy eyes. They performed the three field sobriety tests on him: the horizontal gaze nystagmus test, walk and turn test, and the one leg stand test. According to officers, he failed the walk and turn and one leg stand test.
Furthermore, Grigsby refused to blow into the alco-sensor. He also refused to consent to a breathalyzer test at the Muscogee County Jail. He will need a Muscogee County DUI Lawyer.
Grigsby currently faces charges of driving under the influence and open container.
Things to Take Away from Grigsby's Case
If charged with refusing to submit to the breath test, you could be facing a hard suspension of your license up to one year in Georgia. To defend against this, you must submit a 30-day letter to request an Administrative License Hearing (ALS). There is no other way to defend other than sending a letter.
If you do not send in a 30-day letter, then your license will be suspended for an entire year. This penalty is separate from the criminal case the State has against you. Therefore, you could still receive significant jail time and fines on top of a license suspension.
In the alternative, he can install an ignition interlock device on his automobile for 12-months, assuming this is his first Georgia DUI offense. However, as an admonition, even if Mr. Grigsby's case is dismissed or reduced, he will still have to keep the ignition interlock on his car for 12-months.
Our Lawyers Have Extensive Experience in Refusal Cases
The consequences are severe for refusing to perform a breath test. Do not be fooled into thinking you do not have any options. You do not have to suffer through a 12-month license suspension. A Georgia DUI Lawyer will file the 30-day letter for you. After submitting the letter, your DUI Attorney will investigate your case. This involves ensuring the officer followed all the proper procedures during the arrest. Other defenses that can be argued at your ALS hearing as well. Contact one of our lawyers today to discuss the specific circumstances of your case.
If you have been charged with a DUI, it does not mean you are guilty. A charge is not the same as a conviction. Our Attorneys have over 50 years of experience and are here to help. Our expert lawyers thoroughly understand refusals and how to defend against them. Do not be tricked into thinking that you have to a accept the 12-month suspension. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.