A recent news story came out the other day regarding reckless driving - as this is a commonly charged offense and one that is frequently accompanied by DUI in Georgia.
Alpharetta police said that James Anthony was caught driving over 100MPH on Ga. 400 in his dark gray 2015 Chevy Corvette. When he was pulled over, Anthony allegedly said, “It can handle well. I just got. I have race cars.”
On the dash cam recording, the officer can be heard saying, “You know how many lives you just endangered weaving in and out of traffic like that - absolutely ridiculous.”
Anthony is currently facing Georgia Reckless Driving and Georgia Speeding. Both of these charges are common offenses in the state of Georgia. These charges can lead to a Georgia Driver’s License Suspension as a result of too many points on the license.
Reckless Driving in Georgia
Reckless Driving in Georgia is considered a very serious traffic violation.
Some examples of reckless driving are: weaving, driving at high speeds, tailgating, forceful merging, or cutting other drivers off.
Reckless driving is defined by the Georgia Code as:
Any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving. O.C.G.A. §40-6-390.
If the accused person is convicted of reckless driving, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor. The punishment can include a fine up to $1,000.00, jail time for up to 12 months, or both.
A reckless driving conviction will also add four points to your license. This has the potential of leading to a points suspension of your Georgia driver's license. A points suspension occurs if you have accumulated fifteen or more points in a consecutive 24-month period. However, if you are a driver under 21 years old, any offense that is four points or more will suspend your Georgia driver's license for a six-month period.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a traffic violation in Georgia, contact a Georgia Traffic Ticket Lawyer today. We can investigate your case and apply whatever defenses might apply, so that you can keep your license and your right to drive in Georgia.
For your first points suspension in five years: you are eligible for a limited use driving permit that will allow you to drive to work, school, medical care and treatment including pharmacies to obtain prescription medications, addiction or abuse counseling, or attend court ordered driver education courses.
For your second points suspension within five years: you are eligible for immediate reinstatement of your driver's license once you complete a defensive driving course and pay a $210 reinstatement fee.
For your third points suspension within five years: your license will be suspended for two years and you will not be eligible for a limited use driving permit or early reinstatement, but you will still be required to submit a certificate of completion of a defensive driving course and pay a reinstatement fee at the end of the suspension period.