Andrew Wiemann pleaded guilty yesterday to one count of reckless driving and two counts of first degree vehicular homicide in Georgia. In July of last year, Wiemann caused a crash that killed both Thomas and Pamela Mayo in Coweta County.
According to the reports, the Mayos were attempting to turn left into a parking lot when Wiemann sped through a red light and hit their car. Wiemann was reported to be driving at 94 MPH at the time of the crash.
Assistant District Attorney, Matthew Swope, stated in regards to Wiemann's conviction: “There is no excuse for such speed. Reckless behavior and disregard resulted in the death of the Mayos. If it wasn't for the speed, they'd still be alive.”
Wiemann is facing a prison sentence of 5 years followed by 10 years of probation.
As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I am all too familiar with horrendous situations such as the crash that happened in 2017. Today, I will focus on the offense of reckless driving in Georgia and explaining the law behind it.
Reckless Driving in Georgia
The Georgia Code defines reckless driving as:
Any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving. O.C.G.A. §40-6-390.
Reckless driving is classified as a misdemeanor and as a serious traffic violation. As you can see, the law is quite broad. Examples of reckless driving include:
- Weaving in and out of lanes
- Driving at high speeds
- Cutting other drivers off
This is not a comprehensive list. The statute includes any driving behavior that is in reckless disregard for the safety of others.
If convicted of reckless driving, the penalty can include up to $1,000 in fines, up to 12 months of jail time, and four points added to your Georgia Driver's License.
If you or a loved one has been charged with reckless driving or a DUI in Georgia, contact our offices today. We can determine the best route to take regarding your case.
Both your freedom and your right to drive on Georgia roads are at stake. We are available 24/7 to help.