If you are charged with MIP in Georgia or Minor in Possession of Alcohol, this is a criminal offense that can stay with you for life. It can also suspend your Georgia Drivers License. Having a life-time criminal record can take away so many potential opportunities, some of which you cannot imagine. Our office receives calls every week from people who want convictions expunged. There is no such thing as expungment for offenses for which you have been convicted or plead guilty. So, the time to act is when the offense of minor in possession is pending.
To be more clear, a conviction for Minor in Possession can remain on your criminal record for the rest of your life. Any drug or alcohol related offense can affect your ability to apply for college, student loans and financial aid, and future employment. The charge can also carry severe penalties including a driver’s license suspension and probation. It will be imperative to hire an attorney immediately in order to properly protect your driver’s license and ensure your future is not negatively impacted.
The maximum penalty for a minor in possession charge in Georgia is a $300.00 fine and 6 months in jail. Under certain circumstances, your license can also be suspended for a minimum period of 6 months with no limited use permit. A second or subsequent offense can carry a 12 month license suspension.
An attorney, however, may be able to negotiate a dismissal of the charge in exchange for the performance of community service, completion of a clinical evaluation or drug and alcohol class, a fine, or a combination of other potential alternatives. If the charge is dismissed, it is possible the charge can also be expunged (permanently removed) from your criminal record and avoid a license suspension.
Having any alcohol or drug related conviction on your criminal record can affect you for the rest of your life, especially if you are under the age of 21 and applying for college and financial aid or looking for employment. The law is applied differently to persons under the age of 21 and there are different rules for license suspensions and reinstatement as well. Dealing with MIP cases and the related issues takes a DUI lawyer that is experienced with defending these charges.
If you have been charged with an M.I.P. in Georgia or your child has been charged, contact us today. We can help resolve the case so that you child does not face a life-time of consequences for one immature act.