According to reports, a woman is facing her third DUI after allegedly striking a cop's car in NW Atlanta.
The accident resulted in the officer breaking several bones. She rear-ended the officer's car at an intersection on Monday night. It has been reported that she has two prior DUI convictions from DeKalb and Gwinnett County.
As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I will outline the potential penalties behind getting convicted of a third DUI in the state of Georgia.
Third Georgia DUI
The penalties for a Third Georgia DUI conviction are severe. Georgia DUI Law is already strict and the consequences of a DUI conviction in Georgia are life-changing. However, when a person has been convicted of several DUIs in the state of Georgia, the penalties are seriously exaggerated.
The penalties for a third Georgia DUI can include:
12 - 36 months of probation (depending on whether there are other associated offenses)
120 days to 12 months in jail ( a minimum of 15 days must be served; however few people only get 15 days)
Fine of $1000 - $5000
240 hours of community service
5 years of license suspension
Surrender of License Plate
Mandatory Treatment DUI Court Programs
Court Supervised Intensive Alcohol and Drug Treatment
Publication of Photo in the local newspaper
Being Declared a Habitual Violator
Status of High and Aggravated Misdemeanor with fines up to $5000
Just because you have previous DUI convictions does not mean that you are guilty of a subsequent DUI if arrested and accused.
However, there is a lot at stake if you have been arrested for a subsequent DUI charge. Contact a Georgia DUI Attorney now. We can help you with your case and determine the best course of action for you.