Traffic-related incidents on Georgia highways in 2017 exceeded the 2016 state total. According to the Georgia Department of Public Safety, during the holiday traffic travel period (6 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 22, and 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 26), there were a total of fifteen traffic-related deaths.
Georgia State Troopers reported 515 traffic crashes (219 injuries and ten fatalities).
There were 192 people arrested for driving under the influence. Georgia issued 7,323 citations and 12,313 warnings.
"Most fatal crashes during a holiday period in Georgia involve an impaired driver, speed, or the person killed not utilizing a seat belt," said the Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Safety (Col. Mark McDonough). "In some crashes, a combination of contributing factors is involved," he noted.
According to the Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety, distracted driving is also an issue contributing to severe or fatal driving accidents in Georgia. Most distracted driving occurs because of drivers using cell phones while driving.
Impaired Driving in Georgia
It is illegal in Georgia to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. In Georgia, DUI laws include drugs either illegal, validly prescribed, and over-the-counter.
Speeding in Georgia
Georgia's ‘Super Speeder Law' and fees went into effect January 1st, 2010. The "Super Speeder Law" or "HB160" adds another two-hundred-dollar state-fee for any driver convicted of speeding at 75-or-more on any two-lane roads or convicted of speeding at 85-and-over anywhere in Georgia. This fee will be in addition to any local fines already in effect in the jurisdiction where the speeding offense occurs.
Seat Belt Use in Georgia
Under Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208, each front-seat occupant of a passenger vehicle must be restrained by a seatbelt. Adult occupants riding in the back-seat are not required to use a seat belt. However, children are required to either be restrained by a seatbelt or in an age/weight appropriate restraint.
Distracted Driving in Georgia
Texting while driving was banned on July 1, 2010, meaning it is illegal to text and drive in Georgia. Georgia drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone, text messaging device, personal digital assistant, computer, or similar wireless device to write, send or read text data while driving. The ban applies to text messages, instant messages, email, and Internet data. Offenders are subject to a $150 fine and one point against their driving record.
If you have been charged with a DUI or a Traffic Ticket in Georgia, you need a Georgia DUI Lawyer or a Georgia Traffic Ticket Lawyer. No offense is too small or big for us to handle. With over 50 combined years of experience, Lawson and Berry know exactly how to assist with your case. Contact us today for a free case evaluation. Our Georgia Attorneys are here to help.