What Happens if I Move Within Georgia?
According to O.C.G.A. §40-5-33, you have 60 days to update your address when moving within Georgia. If you fail to update your address, you may be ticked if you are pulled over. In Georgia, the first name change during a renewal period is free. If you have already received your free address change, then there will be charges associated with a second change. To update your address, you have the choice of updating it online or in person. If you change it online, a renewal fee may apply if it is within 150 days of the expiration date or it is the second address change. If not, then there is no fee to update your license to your current address. If you choose to update in person at a Customer Service Center, the DDS requires customers to provide two documents proving residential address. These documents can include utility bills such as telephone, cable, internet, gas, electric bills or bank statements.
What Happens When I Move to Georgia From Another State?
Georgia law O.C.G.A. §40-5-20 states that any person who is a resident of this state for 30 days shall obtain a driver's license before operating a motor vehicle in this state. Therefore, after moving to Georgia, you have 30 days to apply for a Georgia driver's license. The fee is $32, and you must apply in person at a Georgia Department of Driver Services Customer Service Center. You will need to bring your secure ID documents to the Department of Driver Services to prove identity and residency.
For more information on obtaining a Georgia Driver's License or updating your, visit Georgia Department of Driver Services.
Because of our Georgia DUI Defense practice, our office interacts with the Georgia Department of Driver Services on a daily basis. Contact one of our experienced Georgia DUI Attorneys today if you have any questions. We are happy to help.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment