One of the first questions people ask when they get arrested for a DUI is how long are they going to lose their license for a DUI conviction in Georgia. Most people depend upon their license to get to school, work, chauffeur their children, and run ordinary errands. Losing your license can have a significant impact on your daily life, and it is understandable why it would be a huge concern for people.
Unfortunately, there is no one size fits all answer as to how long you will lose your license. It all depends on the particular circumstances in your case but if you are convicted of drunk driving, then yes, you will likely have your license suspended.
After you have been arrested for a DUI and your blood alcohol content (BAC) registers over .08, or you refuse a state administered chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine, Georgia DUI Laws require that you receive a temporary driver's license. In addition, it is also notice of intention to suspend your driver's license at a later date.
As of July 1, 2017, you will have 30 days to request a hearing to appeal the suspension of your driver's license or choose to get an ignition interlock. If you do nothing within those 30 days, then your license will automatically be suspended for 12 months. Consulting a lawyer to file a letter on your behalf can save your license; as a result, it is crucial to contact an attorney immediately.
Factors that Contribute to the Length of a License Suspension:
If you retain your license after the hearing, it is still possible for you to lose your license after going to court. Two factors that can contribute to the length of your suspension whether you submitted to the state-administered test or whether you refused to take a breath or blood test. In cases involving a refusal, the license suspension can be a hard 12-month suspension, with no permit to drive.
Another factor is your age at the time of the DUI. People under the age of 21 will face a suspension of 6 months if their BAC is under .08% or 12 months if it was over .08%.
Depending on your driving history, you could be eligible for a permit to drive to and from work and other permissible places. However, if you have a prior DUI conviction, this will not apply to you until you have served at least a 120-day hard suspension. Then, you will need to have an ignition interlock placed on your vehicle for 12 months.
If your DUI is drug-related, you could face different rules regarding license suspension. Generally, a drug-related suspension does not allow for limited driving privileges.
Contact an Attorney:
Your best chance at avoiding losing your license is to speak with an experienced Georgia DUI Attorney as soon as possible. Richard Lawson and his team have more than 20 years of Georgia DUI Defense experience and can assist you with keeping your license.
For more Georgia DUI Information, check back regularly.