Johns Creek, Ga. - Police arrested a woman after shooting at her vehicle yesterday morning.
She allegedly hit two women in the parking lot of a local lounge on Medlock Bridge Road. She then attempted to flee the scene but ended up driving toward police officers which is why the incident resulted in gunfire with officers. One of the women that the driver hit was seriously injured. The driver ended up successfully fleeing the scene but was located later at her home in Johns Creek. She was arrested on charges of aggravated assault and leaving the scene of an accident.
As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I will outline the law behind leaving the scene of an accident.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Georgia
Leaving the scene of an accident in Georgia is defined as a violation of the following responsibilities that are laid out by Georgia Law. When a driver has been involved in an accident within the state of Georgia, the following responsibilities are legally binding:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements of subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years.
If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
Leaving the scene of an accident is a closely related offense to DUI in Georgia. If you or a loved one has been arrested for a serious traffic violation, call our offices today.