John Brown, 61, of Clayton County, Georgia, faces serious charges after a crash which led to the death of his wife. Brown was driving a 2001 Cadillac Deville at around 3:50 p.m. on Tuesday, January 1, 2019 (New Year's Day), when he tried to enter the I-985 South entrance ramp. However, he failed to yield to oncoming traffic, according to Georgia law enforcement.
Shari Brown, his wife, was in the passenger seat of the vehicle at the time of the crash. Another vehicle, a 2009 Nissan 370Z which was heading north on Ga. 13 hit Brown's vehicle on the passenger side. The crash sent his vehicle careening into a 2017 Hyundai Elantra which was stopped on the I-985 ramp. The Elantra was forced backward and hit a 2010 GMC Acadia which was stopped behind it.
Brown's wife, Shari, was killed as a result of the accident. John Brown was sent to Northeast Georgia Medical Center after he complained of injuries. The driver of the Nissan was also taken to the same location for treatment of minor injuries which resulted from the crash. The drivers of the other two vehicles were not injured.
Brown now faces charges of driving under the influence (DUI), vehicular homicide, and failure to yield while turning left.
If you or someone you care for has been arrested for DUI or vehicular homicide resulting from alleged intoxicated driving, the charges you face are extremely serious. An experienced Georgia DUI attorney can help.
Penalties for Vehicular Homicide Charges
The penalties for a charge of vehicular homicide (called homicide by vehicle in Georgia) are extremely serious. Depending on the nature of the charges, and the circumstances of the death, it can be either a felony or a misdemeanor.
First-Degree Homicide by Vehicle Penalties
If convicted of first-degree homicide by vehicle, the offense is a felony. In most cases, the person convicted of this crime will be punished as follows.
- Up to a maximum of 15 years in prison.
- Up to a maximum of 20 years in prison if considered a habitual violator.
- Driver's license revocation of 3 years.
Second-Degree Homicide by Vehicle Penalties
If convicted of second-degree homicide by vehicle, the offense is a misdemeanor. The person convicted faces the following potential penalties:
- Up to a maximum of 1 year in jail; and/or
- A maximum possible fine of up to $1,000.
Will I Have to Go to Jail or Prison?
You will not always be forced to go to jail. There are a great many factors that go into a judge's decision about whether to send you to prison or jail. Judges have discretion about your punishment up to a point. In many cases, a person's jail sentence is suspended or other alternative punishments are imposed instead.
Consult a Georgia DUI Attorney
For help with your DUI charges, or charges related to DUI such as vehicular homicide, you need an attorney with years of experience to fight for your constitutional rights.
An experienced Georgia DUI attorney can help. Contact us today for a free consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment