Newnan, Ga. - According to reports out of Newnan, three people were seriously injured on Monday after the driver of a vehicle passed out while driving.
Officers stated that the woman fell asleep while driving on Interstate 85. This led to her slamming into a parked car that was located on the shoulder. The three passengers in the vehicle all suffered serious injuries. One of the passengers was airlifted to Atlanta Medical Center.
Officers found methamphetamine and syringes in the vehicle and believe that the driver was under the influence. As a Coweta County DUI Lawyer, I will outline the law behind the offense of DUI Drugs in today's post as the driver may be facing this charge.
DUI Drugs in Georgia
DUI Drugs in Georgia is defined in the same statute as a DUI for alcohol influence. The law states that:
“A person shall not drive while under the influence of any drug to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive; a person shall not drive under the influence of a combination of substances (i.e. drugs and alcohol) to the extent that it is less safe for the person to drive; a person cannot be under the influence of prescription drugs, even if a drug or drugs are prescribed legally.” O.C.G.A. §40-6-391.
The investigating officer will be looking for anything that might be a clue to driving under the influence. There is no quantitative legal limit for being under the influence of drugs or impaired by drugs. Instead, officers will consider all of the factors surrounding both the investigation and the arrest including but not limited to: manner of driving, sobriety test results, behaviors, conversational skills, etc.
In order to be convicted of DUI Drugs, the state of Georgia must prove whether or not someone is driving under the influence of a drug or drugs to the extent that he or she is a less safe driver. Since there is no quantitative legal limit for drug consumption, the arresting officers' observations are the determining factors.
The penalties for a first-time conviction for DUI-Drugs in Georgia can include a minimum of 24 hours in jail, a fine of at least $300, 12 months on probation, 40 hours of community experience, DUI School completion, and clinical drug and alcohol evaluation.
DUI Law in Georgia is extensive and covers many different actions. If you have been arrested for DUI in Georgia, contact our offices now.