Newnan, Ga. - A motorist riding a motorcycle was seriously injured in a crash on Georgia 34 near the intersection of Thigpen Road.
There was a collision involving three vehicles - two cars and the motorcycle. According to authorities, the motorcyclist was driving toward the intersection when a vehicle turned left. They collided and then the motorcyclist was ejected from his bike into the road. That was where the third vehicle came into play by hitting him as he laid in the road. Some witnesses reported that there could have been a fourth vehicle involved but that the driver left the scene of the accident. Investigators are still unclear as to what happened and how many drivers were involved.
As a Coweta County DUI Lawyer, I will outline the law behind the offense of hit and run in today's post.
Hit and Run in Georgia
O.C.G.A. §40-6-270 outlines the necessary requirements if a person has been involved in an accident. A person is charged with Hit and Run in Georgia when he or she violates the statute requirements.
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
Hit and run can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the results of the accident. If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years. If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
Call our offices today if you or a loved one has been arrested or cited for an offense.