So far, investigators in East Point have identified at least one of the drivers involved in a fatal crash that occurred on Saturday. The victim was Herbert Alexander, a 70-year-old man.
Alexander was allegedly hit by a car early Saturday morning while he was crossing Cleveland Avenue. He was then reportedly hit by a second car and dragged down the street. By the time emergency personnel responded to the scene, both cars had left the scene of the accident.
I've focused the past two posts on hit and run, otherwise known as leaving the scene of an accident in Georgia, so today, as a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I will outline the offense of vehicular homicide in Georgia.
Vehicular Homicide in Georgia
Vehicular homicide is divided into two degrees in Georgia based upon severity. First-degree vehicular homicide is defined as without malice aforethought, a death is caused by the person either committing:
- Unlawful Passing of a School Bus in Georgia
- Reckless Driving in Georgia
- Fleeing or Attempting to Elude a Police Officer in Georgia
- Hit and Run in Georgia
- DUI in Georgia
Second-degree vehicular homicide is defined as the same - however, if it's caused by the person committing any other traffic violation than the ones mentioned above in the law on first-degree vehicular homicide.
The consequences for a homicide by vehicle conviction in the first degree are a prison term between three and fifteen years. Further, the crime will be deemed a felony. However, a conviction for homicide by vehicle in the second degree is considered a misdemeanor and carries penalties of a fine up to $1,000 or a prison term up to 12 months, or both.
If you or a loved one has been accused of vehicular homicide, you need an attorney who knows how to defend such a serious case. Contact a Georgia DUI Attorney today.