Riverdale, Ga. - According to reports out of Riverdale, authorities are searching for a driver and the corresponding vehicle that is allegedly responsible for hitting a pedestrian on Georgia 85 at Lee's Mill Road last night.
Investigators believe that the pedestrian was walking on the side of Georgia 85 after leaving his vehicle behind. This occurred around 11:00PM last night. There was a passenger that was in the pedestrian's vehicle who witnessed the accident but was unable to determine the make or color of the vehicle that struck him. The pedestrian was rushed to a nearby hospital and information has yet to be updated on his status.
Police are asking for anyone who sees a vehicle with “visible damage to the front left side and possible damage to the windshield” to report to them. Even though not much is known about the incident, as a Clayton County DUI Lawyer, I will focus on the offense that suspect will most definitely be facing once arrested for leaving the scene - hit and run in the state of Georgia.
Hit and Run in Georgia
O.C.G.A. §40-6-270 is the relevant statute for the offense of hit and run in Georgia. A driver can be charged with hit and if he or she violates the requirements that are listed out in this statute.
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall:
(1) Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
(2) Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
(3) Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
(4) Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance.
The driver shall in every event remain at the scene of the accident until fulfilling the requirements of this subsection. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
Hit and run can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the results of the accident. If such accident is the proximate cause of death or a serious injury, any person knowingly failing to stop and comply with the requirements shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years. If such accident is the proximate cause of an injury other than a serious injury or if such accident resulted in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person, any person knowingly failing to stop or comply with the requirements of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $300.00 nor more than $1,000.00, which fine shall not be subject to suspension, stay, or probation, or imprisoned for up to 12 months, or both.
If you have been cited for a serious traffic violation such as hit and run or DUI in Georgia, call our firm today. A Georgia DUI Lawyer can help you determine which options work best for you. Call now.