Powder Springs, Ga. - A driver has been arrested for charges of vehicular homicide and reckless driving after he allegedly caused a collision that killed a woman and seriously injured a granddaughter.
The driver was allegedly traveling at 80 MPH in a 45 MPH zone when he approached heavy traffic. He collided with the woman's vehicle. The woman and the child were rushed to nearby hospitals. The woman was pronounced dead shortly thereafter.
As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I will outline the law behind reckless driving in today's post.
Reckless Driving in Georgia
Georgia Law defines reckless driving in Georgia in O.C.G.A. §40-6-390 of the Georgia Code as:
(a) Any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving.
(b) Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment, provided that no provision of this Code section shall be construed so as to deprive the court imposing the sentence of the power given by law to stay or suspend the execution of such sentence or to place the defendant on probation.
Therefore, if a driver is found guilty of reckless driving, he or she could face up to a year in jail as well as fines up to $1,000.
If you or a loved one have been arrested for DUI or any related offense, call our offices now. A member of our team is available to speak with you about your case.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment