Two young men in Alpharetta have been accused by news outlets and police of turning Haynes Bridge Road into “their own personal NASCAR track.”
Kenneth Menchio and Trevor Nelson were clocked going double the speed limit on Haynes Bridge Road during wet road conditions - including both rain and fog. They've both been accused of speeding, and arrested for racing in Georgia.
I mention quite frequently that as a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I am also very well experienced and successful at defending various serious traffic violations. In today's post, I will outline the law behind racing in Georgia.
Racing in Georgia
By law, “racing" means the use of one or more vehicles in an attempt to out gain, outdistance, or prevent another vehicle from passing, to arrive at a given destination ahead of another vehicle or vehicles, or to test the physical stamina or endurance of drivers over long-distance driving routes.
However, to contrast, legally “drag racing" means the operation of two or more vehicles from a point side by side at accelerated speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other or the operation of one or more vehicles over a common selected course from the same point to the same point for the purpose of comparing the relative speeds or power of acceleration of such vehicle or vehicles within a certain distance or time limit.
As you can suspect, Georgia law prohibits any vehicle on a highway of this state from participating in any race, speed competition or contest, drag race or acceleration contest, test of physical endurance, exhibition of speed or acceleration, or for the purpose of making a speed record.
Racing is considered a very serious traffic violation because it puts others at risk of danger and injury. If convicted of racing, the penalties can include:
- Any punishments allowed under the misdemeanor sentencing statute
- Fines of $1000 plus court costs
- License suspension for points if the charge causes you to reach 15 points
- License suspension as a penalty for the offense itself
- License suspension for 6 months for persons under the age of 21
- Court-ordered license suspension for any driver if the court deems it necessary
- Community Service
If you or a loved one has been arrested, contact our offices today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment