As we explore the ramifications of the new Georgia DUI Law, several minor changes have come to our attention.
The new law allows for a person charged with a first DUI to choose to install an ignition interlock device on their car. As I have examined the law, I have realized that the law applies when a person is charged with their first DUI in Georgia.
If a person has had prior DUI offenses in other states, they can avail themselves of the opportunity to install an interlock device if it is their first DUI in Georgia and their first DUI while having a Georgia driver's license.
A second potential benefit is for drivers under the age of 21 who will turn 21 within thirty days of their arrest. In this specific situation, the above-described person is allowed to get an ignition interlock device.
What has not changed:
Drivers can still appeal their license suspension. Instead of 10 days to appeal, they now have 30 days. There is still a $150 filing fee to appeal. We still recommend sending the letter via certified mail with a return receipt. We also recommend that you hire an experienced Georgia DUI Lawyer within sufficient time to review your case before deciding whether to file an appeal or install the interlock.
Our commitment to our clients has also not changed. With the ignition interlock option, we can now fight cases without worry that our clients will have their driver's licenses suspended during the pendency of their cases.
Also, rest assured that we do not assume anything when you call our office. We will investigate your case for all possible defenses.
Finally, rest assured that this website will publish the most current Georgia DUI Information and information about Georgia DUI Penalties. We are here 24/7 to provide the answers you need when you need them the most.