A Florida man from Miramar Beach is facing several charges after his Porche crashed into a Georgia woman's Mercedes.
On Sunday, January 27, 2019, at around 7:30 p.m., a crash occurred in front of the Track Family Recreation Center. Forty-eight-year-old Scott Filippi was driving a black Porsche and collided with a silver Mercedes driven by a woman from Marietta, Georgia.
He was traveling eastbound on Highway 98, hitting the Mercedes on the rear driver side and knocking the car off of the road. Forty-two-year-old Stacy Boudreau, the passenger in Filippi's car, was taken to the hospital and treated for minor injuries.
Filippi faces charges in Florida, including driving under the influence (DUI), DUI with property damage, and failure to provide insurance.
No Proof of Insurance Charges in Georgia
Like the driver from Florida, who faces charges stemming from his failure to provide insurance, a similar charge exists for Georgia drivers.
All drivers of motor vehicles on Georgia roadways are required to have adequate minimum insurance coverage. The key words in the statute pertain to the "owner" and the "operator." Someone borrowing the car of another person cannot claim lack of ownership as a defense if that vehicle is not insured.
Penalties for No Proof of Insurance Charges
Any person who fails to comply with the requirements of O.C.G.A. 40-6-10 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
If convicted, the person faces the following potential penalties a fine of not less than $200.00 and not more than $1,000, imprisonment for no more than 12 months (1 year), or both.
Such a person may also lose their privilege to drive for at least 60 days up to a possible 90 days. This may have a significant impact on your ability to get to work and make a living.
If a person has insurance but fails to show it, the maximum fine is only $25.00, a much less serious charge. To ensure you face the lesser penalty, it is important that you bring proof of valid insurance that was in effect at the time you were stopped. This will prevent you from being charged as if you did not have valid insurance.
Getting Insurance Quickly
If you did not have insurance at the time of a police stop and you are charged with No Proof of Insurance, it is a good idea to quickly get insurance coverage for your vehicle.
One, this puts you in compliance with the law. Two, if you show that you quickly rectified the problem, it may be an excellent negotiating tool to prevent the higher level penalties associated with the charge. If the prosecutor sees a legitimate effort to fix the problem, they may be more likely to show leniency and forgiveness in a plea deal.
This especially can help you avoid having your license suspended.
Consult a Georgia DUI Attorney
If you or someone you care about has been arrested and charged with DUI or no proof of insurance in the state of Georgia, a Georgia DUI defense attorney can defend your case and protect your constitutional rights. Contact us today for a free consultation.