People think that mistakes you make when you are young don't matter later on in life, but this is not the case with a DUI conviction. Georgia DUI Penalties are harsh for people over 21 years of age, but they become even steeper for people under 21. Furthermore, a DUI arrest has lasting consequences. That is why a person under the age of 21 charged with a DUI must act fast to preserve their rights and their future.
The legal drinking age in Georgia is 21 years of age, and the BAC limit is .08. However, for someone under the age of 21, the legal limit is .02. Because .02 is a very low limit, people charged with an underage DUI may not be impaired. Although it is unfair, a person under the age of 21 can be found guilty of a DUI, while at the same time not be impaired by alcohol.
The penalty for Underage DUI in Georgia:
- A first offense in Georgia has the potential to come with the following penalties:
- A fine between $300-$1,000
- Jail term between 1-10 days (the one day in jail is often not imposed)
- At least 40 hours of community service
- Completion of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program
- A clinical evaluation
- 12 months of probation
- License suspension
Furthermore, a plea of nolo contendere in Georgia will not be accepted for a person under 21 years old.
Under 21 DUI Convictions Carry Consequences That Extend Beyond Jail Time and Fines
When people under 21 years of age receive DUI convictions, there are many challenges to overcome. If in high school, the DUI on their record can prevent them from getting into college. Furthermore, athletic scholarships are often revoked if the student receives a DUI conviction. Also, it can make it difficult to obtain employment. If employers have two candidates, but one has a DUI conviction, they are likely going to hire the applicant without the conviction on their record.
The safest thing for a person under 21 years of age is to refrain from drinking completely but especially from drinking and driving. However, if you are charged, you need assistance immediately. You only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to appeal your driver's license suspension so do not delay in seeking representation!
How Can a Georgia DUI Attorney Help?
Our team of Georgia DUI lawyers will help you understand your case and your options. We will examine all of the evidence and develop a defense specific to your goals. If you have been charged with an underage DUI in Georgia or are the parent of a person charged with a DUI, contact our office now for assistance. Time is of the essence, and your needs attention now so you can protect your rights in the future. Contact us now to set up a free case evaluation.