A woman has been taken to a hospital in DeKalb County after being pinned between her car and a gas pump - the result of a four car accident. Allegedly, the crash was caused by a speeding gray vehicle. The car slammed into a pick-up truck. The truck, in turn, crashed into another SUV, which ultimately hit the woman's car.
As of right now, reports say that the occupants of the gray vehicle are believed to be juveniles.
No other details have been released. As a Georgia DUI Lawyer, I will outline the offense of leaving the scene of an accident in Georgia as that appears to be what the drivers in this recent news story will be facing if they are identified and found.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Georgia
There are legal requirements of all drivers that are involved in an accident. The obligations are outlined in the Georgia Code as:
- Exchange personal information with other involved parties (name, address, vehicle registration information)
- Display a valid driver's license upon request
- Provide reasonable assistance to anyone who was injured in the accident and/or transport him or her to the closest medical facility for treatment, if necessary, and
- Contact emergency medical services and police. O.C.G.A. §40-6-270.
All drivers involved in an accident are required by Georgia Law to remain at the scene until all of these responsibilities have been fulfilled. The legal obligations exist whether or not you were the cause of the accident.
Leaving the scene of an accident in Georgia is classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony offense based entirely on the circumstances surrounding the accident itself.
If the accident does not involve any personal or property injury, then the offense might be charged as a misdemeanor offense. This means the penalty can include up to 12 months of time in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
If the accident does involve personal injury or property damage, then the offense will be charged as a felony offense. This means the penalty can include up to five years in prison, fines, probation, and Georgia Driver’s License Suspension.